Meadowlands
by Elizabeth Jeffrey

The comfortable, upper-class lives of the aristocratic Barsham family are set to change forever with the onset of World War I.

August, 1914. The silver wedding celebrations of Sir George Barsham, MP, and his wife, Lady Adelaide, are overshadowed by the declaration of war with Germany. Over the following months, as the male estate workers head for the Front and the maids disappear to work in the newly-opened munitions factory, the Barsham family’s comfortable, aristocratic lifestyle is set to change forever.

Determined to do his bit for King and country, James Barsham enlists as an officer and heads for Flanders, leaving Lady Adelaide’s maid Polly devastated. To Lady Adelaide’s dismay, her younger daughter Millie learns to drive an ambulance: a most unladylike skill. Meanwhile Millie’s sister Gina finds fulfilment in helping the local wives and children, left destitute while their husbands are away fighting.

During the course of the war, with devastating loses, the strength of character of the four Barsham siblings will be tested as never before. They will encounter hardship, danger, heartache – and unexpected love.

Reviews

“Fans of Downton Abbey and Upstairs, Downstairs will be captivated by Jeffrey’s latest.”

Booklist Starred Review

Elizabeth Jeffrey

View author page

Editions

Meadowlands by Elizabeth Jeffrey is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788469531st December 2014141 X 222mm224£20.99
Hardback978072788469531st December 2014141 X 222mm224£20.99
Ebook97817801061821st April 2015N/A224$6.99
Ebook97817801061821st April 2015N/A224£4.99
Ebook *97817801061821st April 2015N/A224$6.99
Hardback - Large Print97807278726611st November 2015142 X 222mm352$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978072787266131st July 2015142 X 222mm352£22.99
Hardback - Large Print97807278726611st November 2015142 X 222mm352$36.95
Paperback978184751572830th June 2015138 X 216mm224£12.99
Paperback978184751572830th June 2015138 X 216mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

* Out of print