Them Without Pain
by Chris Nickson

Simon Westow, the city’s unwavering thief-taker, must confront betrayal, history and murder in this gritty page-turner set in nineteenth-century Leeds.

Leeds, May 1825
. Thief-taker Simon Westow is hired by Sir Robert Foley to find four silver cups stolen by his servant. The cups are a family treasure, crafted by local silversmith Arthur Mangey over a century before.

Meanwhile, Simon has also been invited to witness the demolition of Middle Row, where Mangey reputedly had a secret workshop for coin clipping, the very crime he was hanged for in 1696. Is it a coincidence or a terrible omen? Simon’s curiosity swiftly turns to horror when he discovers Foley’s servant lying dead in the clandestine room.

How can a long-dead criminal be involved in the servant’s demise? Simon needs all the help he can get from his assistant Jane and deadly protégé Sally to navigate the twisted path from history to the present amidst the growing number of dead bodies. But is the truth worth dying for?

This authentic and atmospheric historical mystery will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Charles Finch.

Reviews

“Well-drawn characters, plentiful historical details, and a real feeling for Leeds in all its gritty glory”

Kirkus Reviews

“A dark and complex mystery that contrasts genuine honor with the false tokens paraded by the upper classes”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review on The Scream of Sins

“A dark, gritty page-turner . . . Multiple twists combined with realistic period ambience and vivid characters make this a riveting read”

Booklist on The Scream of Sins

“This gritty and surprise-filled mystery will enthrall both newcomers and series fans”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of The Dead Will Rise

“Nickson’s richly authentic descriptions of life in nineteenth-century Britain combine with a grisly plot and characters who jump off the page”

Booklist on The Dead Will Rise

“An action-packed mystery that provides interesting historical details about despicable crimes”

Kirkus Reviews on The Dead Will Rise

“Nickson does a superb job using the grim living and working conditions for the city’s poor as a backdrop for a memorable and affecting plot. James Ellroy fans will be enthralled”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of The Blood Covenant

“A fine choice for fans of British historical mysteries”

Booklist on The Blood Covenant

“A gritty tale of perseverance, cruelty, rage, and redemption not for the faint of heart'”

Kirkus Reviews on The Blood Covenant

“Superior . . . The whodunit is enhanced by a grim portrait of life on the streets, embodied in a homeless child whom Jane befriends. Nickson again demonstrates mastery of the historical mystery”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of To The Dark

Chris Nickson

Chris Nickson is the author of eleven Tom Harper mysteries, seven highly acclaimed novels in the Richard Nottingham series, and five Simon Westow books. Born and raised in Leeds, he moved back there some years ago.

View author page

Editions

Them Without Pain by Chris Nickson is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483144093rd September 2024147 X 222mm240$29.99
Hardback97814483144093rd September 2024147 X 222mm240£21.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice