At Any Cost
by Jeffrey Siger

Greece is burning . . . and Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis is determined to save his country from disaster in the new novel in Jeffrey Siger’s critically acclaimed, internationally bestselling mystery series

“Thoughtful police procedurals set in picturesque but not untroubled Greek locales” The New York Times
“An atmospheric and exciting series” Booklist (Starred Review)
“Terrific novels which take place on the Greek islands” Readers Digest

Chief Inspector Kaldis is initially dismayed to be asked to investigate a series of suspicious forest fires that took place last summer. In Greece, forest fires are an inevitability, and he fears he and his team are being set up to take the political blame for this year’s blazes.

He quickly becomes suspicious, though, that the forests were torched for profit – and for a project on a far grander scale than the usual low-level business corruption. There are whispers on the wind that shadowy foreign powers intend to establish a surreptitious mega-internet presence on the island of Syros, with the intent to weaponize the digital world to their own dark ends.

Can Kaldis and his team stop the hostile foreign takeover of the idyllic island – or will the rise of the metaverse set not just Greece, but the whole world, on fire?

With its gorgeous Greek locations, engaging characters and fast-paced plotting, this international crime series is a perfect pick for fans of Donna Leon, Louise Penny, Martin Walker and David Hewson.

Reviews

“A new Kaldis case is always a treat, and this one is no exception. The combination of highspeed action, ethical issues, and the politics of the metaverse will keep readers engaged”

Booklist Starred Review

“A timely mystery with an engaging cast and a sublime setting”

Kirkus Reviews

“Breakneck action along with . . . gorgeous descriptions of Greece”

Library Journal

“This is one of the best in the series. It gives us a vivid picture of the Greek landscape, an exciting police procedural, and presents a cautionary tale for this day when forces are trying to pervert the uses of AI and the internet to their pernicious goals”

Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine

“Atmospheric and exciting”

Booklist Starred Review of One Last Chance

“Will appeal to fans of Donna Leon and Louise Penny

Publishers Weekly on One Last Chance

“An engrossing procedural. New readers will discover the gorgeous aspects of Greek life”

Library Journal Starred Review of A Deadly Twist

“As always, Siger keeps readers turning the pages with ingenious plot twists and delicious description of the Greek isle”

Booklist on A Deadly Twist

“Siger seasons Kaldis's investigation with abundant slices of Greek history and island mores . . . Armchair travelers will have fun”

Publishers Weekly on The Mykonos Mob

“Fans of Adrian McKinty's Sean Duffy books and other police procedurals . . . will welcome this outstanding crime novel”

Library Journal Starred Review of An Aegean April

Jeffrey Siger

Jeffrey Siger is an American living on the Aegean Greek island of Mykonos. A former Wall Street lawyer, he gave up his career as a name partner in his own New York City law firm to write the international best-selling, award recognized Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis series of mystery thrillers telling more than just a fast-paced story. The New York Times described his novels as “thoughtful police procedurals set in picturesque but not untroubled Greek locales” and named him as Greece’s thriller novelist of record. Athens Insider Magazine hails him as “a literary star,” the Greek government selected him as the only American author writing novels serving as a guide to Greece, and Reader’s Digest calls him “one of our new favorite authors.” He’s also served as Chair of the National Board of Bouchercon, America’s largest mystery convention, and as Adjunct Professor of English at Washington & Jefferson College, teaching mystery writing.

View author page

Editions

At Any Cost by Jeffrey Siger is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483121086th February 2024148 X 223mm272$29.99
Hardback97814483121086th February 2024148 X 223mm272£21.99
Ebook97814483121156th February 2024N/A256$24.99
Ebook97814483121156th February 2024N/A256£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

The Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis Mystery Series