Augusta Hawke
by G.M. Malliet

Sometimes it’s safer not to know your neighbors’ secrets.

Where are Niko and Zora Norman? Crime writer Augusta Hawke puts her sleuthing skills to the test to solve the mystery of her disappearing neighbors in the first entry in a new series.

While Augusta Hawke is a successful author of eighteen crime novels, since her husband’s death she’s been living vicariously through her Jules Maigret-like detective Claude and his assistant Caroline. Then a handsome police detective appears investigating a real-life mystery.

Where are her neighbors, the Normans? No one has a clue what’s happened – except Augusta. Although she isn’t nosy, spending all day staring out the windows for inspiration means she does notice things. Like the Normans arguing. And that they’ve been missing a week.

Once the Normans’ car is found abandoned, Augusta senses material for a bestseller and calls on the investigatory skills she’s developed as a crime writer. But she soon uncovers long-hidden secrets and finds herself facing real-life dangers her characters never faced . . . ones she can’t write her way out of.


“Highly professional work right up to the unmasking of the surprisingly well-hidden killer”

Kirkus Reviews on Death in Cornwall

“Top notch . . . readers will find a tasty tale that doesn't disappoint. Perfect for fans of the wickedly funny cozy writers M.C. Beaton and Catriona McPherson

Booklist on In Prior's Wood

“Agatha Christie fans will enjoy the locked-room mystery”

Library Journal on Devil's Breath

“Think Agatha Christie meets Ian Fleming”

Library Journal on Demon Summer

“[A] charming series . . . Malliet is a gentle satirist”

New York Times Book Review on Pagan Spring

“You’ll marvel at the author’s low-key humor and crystal-clear depictions of small-town life . . . this is a true homage to Agatha Christie”

Library Journal Starred Review of Wicked Autumn

G.M. Malliet

Agatha Award-winning G.M. Malliet is the acclaimed author of two traditional mystery series and a standalone novel set in England. The first entry in the DCI St. Just series, Death of a Cozy Writer, won the Agatha Award for Best First Novel and was nominated for Macavity and Anthony Awards. The Rev. Max Tudor series has been nominated for many awards as have several of her short stories appearing in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine and The Strand. The Augusta Hawke mysteries, of which Invitation to a Killer is the second, are her first novels set in the U.S., where she and her husband now

View author page


Augusta Hawke by G.M. Malliet is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483060395th July 2022N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483060395th July 2022N/A240£7.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice