Old Sins
by Jane A. Adams

The past is never far behind you . . .

Old sins have a nasty way of catching up with you, as Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone discovers in this gripping historical mystery, which takes him back to a difficult case in his early days as a police officer. Full of unexpected twists, this is a must-read for fans of Downton Abbey and Jacqueline Winspear.

1929. The discovery of the bodies of two retired policemen, Walter Cole and Hayden Paul, sounds warning bells to DCI Henry Johnstone. Both men were experiencing financial difficulties, and their deaths were staged to look like suicides. Hayden left a note containing two words: old sins. And when Henry attends his sister’s Halloween party, he is approached by a flamenco dancer who leaves a note with the name of another man. Could this be a grim warning?

Henry is forced on a painful journey back to an old case he worked on with Cole and Paul. Is someone playing a deadly game with Henry, and is he about to pay for his past mistakes? With Detective Sergeant Mickey Hitchens by his side and his family at risk, Henry must catch a dangerous killer bent on revenge – before the killer catches him . . .

Reviews

Excellent … Adams effortlessly conveys the police procedures, business practices, and social mores of the period. Fans of golden age mysteries will be delighted

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Vivid ... well-constructed ... will appeal to the Downton Abbey crowd

Booklist on The Good Wife

Fast-paced fun

Kirkus Reviews on The Good Wife

Appealing characters ... Fans of historical police procedurals will be satisfied

Publishers Weekly on The Good Wife

Skillfully plotted ... Adams shines light on the darker realities of the times without being heavyhanded

Publishers Weekly on The Clockmaker

This engaging procedural may also appeal to fans of Marjorie Eccles and Jacqueline Winspear

Booklist on Kith and Kin

Outstanding ... Historical fans are in store for an edifying treat

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Kith and Kin

Jane A. Adams

Jane A. Adams is a British writer of psychological thrillers. Her first book, The Greenway, was nominated for a CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and an Author’s Club Best First Novel Award. Adams has a degree in Sociology, was once lead vocalist in a folk rock band, and is married with two children. She lives in Leicester. Her writings are comparable to the work of Lisa Appignanesi, Frances Fyfield and P D James.

View author page

Editions

Old Sins by Jane A. Adams is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278924472nd March 2021148 X 225mm208$28.99
Hardback978072789244731st December 2020148 X 225mm208£20.99
Hardback97807278924472nd March 2021148 X 225mm208$28.99
Ebook97814483048511st February 2021N/A208$14.99
Ebook97814483048511st February 2021N/A208£12.99
Ebook97814483048511st February 2021N/A208$14.99
Hardback - Large Print978144830943627th December 2022147 X 222mm320$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978144830943627th October 20229 X 6mm320£22.99
Hardback - Large Print978144830943631st January 2023142 X 220mm320$36.95
Paperback978178029745330th December 2021140 X 215mm208$17.95
Paperback978178029745328th October 2021140 X 215mm208£12.99
Paperback978178029745330th December 2021140 X 215mm208$17.95
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice