The Fool Dies Last
by Carol Miller

The Bailey sisters may be the only ones able to interpret the meaning behind a bizarre series of murders in the first entry in the hilarious The Fortune Telling Mysteries series.

Sisters Hope and Summer Bailey run Bailey’s Boutique, a mystic shop in Asheville, North Carolina. While Hope’s performing a palm reading a local doctor, Dylan Henshaw, bursts in accusing them of trying to kill his patient with a tincture.

During the confrontation the sisters’ grandmother, Gram, interrupts: one of her friends has died suddenly. It looks like a simple allergic reaction . . . but why is there a solitary Tarot card – the Fool – with the body? When another of Gram’s friends dies in similar circumstances, and in possession of a Fool card, it’s surely no coincidence. What ties the victims together and could Gram be next?

Although Hope is hesitant to read the Tarot again following a recent tragedy, she might be the only one capable of deciphering the clues. Can she overcome her fear and uncover the card’s meaning before the killer strikes again?


“Pleasing characters spark the first entry in an often amusing mystery/romance series”

Kirkus Reviews

“Miller adds an alluring Southern flavor to the classic country house whodunit. Her characters are lighthearted, and the dialog is quite clever ... Recommend for anyone who misses Anne George's ‘Southern Sisters’ mysteries”

Library Journal on An Old-Fashioned Murder

“The third in the Moonshine Mystery series [involves] a lively closed-house murder”

Booklist on An Old-Fashioned Murder

“Fans of mysteries set in rural Southern communities will identify with Miller's characters”

Library Journal on A Nip of Murder

“A fun southern mystery”

Booklist on A Nip of Murder


Kirkus Reviews on A Nip of Murder

Carol Miller

Carol Miller is the author of three Moonshine Mystery novels, including Murder and Moonshine, which was named an Amazon Best Book of the Month and a Library Journal Starred Debut of the Month upon release. The Fool Dies Last is Carol’s first novel with Severn House and the first entry in the Fortune Telling mystery series. Carol is an attorney and lives in Virginia.

View author page


The Fool Dies Last by Carol Miller is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278230385th April 2022145 X 224mm224$28.99
Hardback978072782303827th January 2022145 X 224mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483084081st March 2022N/A224$14.99
Ebook97814483084081st March 2022N/A224£12.99
Hardback - Large Print978144831157629th August 2023146 X 222mm320$38.99
Hardback - Large Print978144831157611th July 2023146 X 222mm320£23.99
Paperback978144830841529th November 2022135 X 215mm224$17.95
Paperback978144830841529th September 2022135 X 215mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice