To The Dark
by Chris Nickson

Winter is about to take a chilling twist…

Thief-taker Simon Westow is drawn into a deadly puzzle when the melting snow reveals a dark secret in this gripping historical mystery, perfect for fans of Anne Perry and Charles Finch.

Leeds, 1822. The city is in the grip of winter, but the chill deepens for thief-taker Simon Westow and his young assistant, Jane, when the body of Laurence Poole, a petty local thief, emerges from the melting snow by the river at Flay Crow Mill.

A coded notebook found in Laurence’s room mentions Charlie Harker, the most notorious fence in Leeds who’s now running for his life, and the mysterious words: To the dark. What was Laurence hiding that caused his death? Simon’s hunt for the truth pits him against some dangerous, powerful enemies who’ll happily kill him in a heartbeat – if they can.

Reviews

Superior … The whodunit is enhanced by a grim portrait of life on the streets, embodied in a homeless child whom Jane befriends. Nickson again demonstrates mastery of the historical mystery

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Another cleverly detailed mystery thick with historical atmosphere and nuanced characters

Kirkus Reviews

For readers who appreciate realistic historical atmosphere and details of the sometimes grim life in a 19th-century factory town. Fans of Jeri Westerson’s “Crispin Guest” series will appreciate the mystery and ambiance

Library Journal

Another strong entry in a consistently satisfying series. Fine writing, a carefully crafted story, unexpected plot twists, plenty of human interest, and authentic descriptions of life in nineteenth-century Leeds make this a book with broad appeal for mystery fans

Booklist

Outstanding ... Historical mysteries don’t get much better than this

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of The Hocus Girl

This historical tour de force reminds readers who come for the mystery that life hasn’t changed for the disenfranchised

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of The Hocus Girl

Combines multiple twists, vivid descriptions of life in the early nineteenth century, strong characters, and a surprising ending. A perfect read-alike for David Liss' popular series starring another British thief-taker, Benjamin Weaver

Booklist on The Hocus Girl

This is an excellent historical mystery, the second in the Simon Westow series. Readers will enjoy it and look forward to additional books

Historical Novels Review of The Hocus Girl

Beautifully balanced between suspense and action ... the historical background ... as always, engaging, detailed and authentic

Joanne Harris, bestselling author of Chocolat, on The Hocus Girl

An exciting debut ... Steeped in Regency atmosphere, it holds your interest from beginning to end

Kirkus Reviews on The Hanging Psalm

Chris Nickson

Chris Nickson is the author of six Tom Harper mysteries and seven highly acclaimed novels in the Richard Nottingham series. He is also a well-known music journalist. He lives in his beloved Leeds.

View author page

Editions

To The Dark by Chris Nickson is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278924542nd March 2021148 X 225mm224$28.99
Hardback978072789245431st December 2020148 X 225mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483049051st February 2021N/A224$25.99
Ebook97814483049051st February 2021N/A224£18.99
Paperback978178029752131st May 2022138 X 216mm224$17.95
Paperback978178029752131st March 2022138 X 216mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice