A Head for Poisoning
by Simon Beaufort

The second book in the critically acclaimed medieval mystery series featuring Sir Geoffrey Mappestone

In the year 1101, Sir Geoffrey Mappestone returns to his home at Goodrich Castle on the Welsh border. He is travelling in the company of a knight who claims to be carrying an urgent message for King Henry I. When the knight is killed during an ambush, Geoffrey feels obliged to deliver the message to the King himself, but quickly regrets his decision when the King orders him to spy on his own family in order to ferret out a dangerous traitor.

Geoffrey returns home to find his father gravely ill and his older brothers and sister each determined to inherit the Mappestone estate. Geoffrey’s father claims he is being poisoned by one of his own children, a claim no one takes seriously until he is found murdered with his own knife in the dead of night.

Geoffrey’s investigation of the murder, however, takes him far beyond a family quarrel. Accusations are flying, and Geoffrey must prove his own innocence in the face of greed and fear. The villainous Earl of Shrewsbury is clearly implicated, and as Geoffrey delves deeper, he discovers a plot that reaches far beyond the realm of Goodrich Castle to that of the entire kingdom: the assassination of the King.


A Head for Poisoning by Simon Beaufort is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788479427th February 2015140 X 222mm384£20.99
Hardback978072788479427th February 2015140 X 222mm384£21.99
Ebook97817801063351st November 2015N/A384$14.99
Ebook97817801063351st November 2015N/A384£4.99
Paperback978184751602230th November 2015137 X 215mm384£12.99
Paperback978184751602230th November 2015137 X 215mm384£13.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

Simon Beaufort

Simon Beaufort is the pseudonym of Susanna Gregory and Beau Riffenburgh when they write jointly. Together they have written eight Geoffrey Mappestone novels and contributed to several Medieval Murderer books. In recent years, they have ventured into more modern times – the two Alec Lonsdale novels take place in Victorian London and The Nimrod Murders is set in Edwardian London, while The Murder House takes place in 21st century Bristol and The Killing Ship in the modern-day Antarctic.

View author page