A Shameful Murder
by Cora Harrison

Introducing the Reverend Mother Aquinas in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series.

Cork, Ireland. 1923. When, one wet March morning, Reverend Mother Aquinas discovers a body at the gate of the convent chapel washed up after a flood ‘like a mermaid in gleaming silver satin’, she immediately sends for one of her former pupils, Police Sergeant Patrick Cashman, to investigate. Dead bodies are not unusual in the poverty-stricken slums of Cork city, but this one is dressed in evening finery; in her handbag is a dance programme for the exclusive Merchant’s Ball held the previous evening – and a midnight ticket for the Liverpool ferry.

Against the backdrop of a country in the midst of Ireland’s Civil War, the Reverend Mother, together with Sergeant Cashman and Dr Sher, an enlightened physician and friend, seek out the truth as to the identity of the victim – and her killer.

Reviews

Harrison combines a savvy detective and a setting fraught with intrigue and tension for another winner

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Mistaken identities, strange twists, an intelligent and likable heroine, and a tragic tale of sex, greed, and betrayal—make sure your historical mystery readers get this one on their radar

Booklist Starred Review

This is a terrific read, carrying you along on the ride. Highly recommended

Historical Novel Society

Recommend for Dicey Deere fans or readers who enjoy M.C. Beaton and Carol Higgins Clark

Library Journal

Cora Harrison

Cora Harrison has written over 50 book for adults and children, including the Burren mysteries. She lives near the Burren in the west of Ireland.coraharrison.com

View author page

Editions

A Shameful Murder by Cora Harrison is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788511129th May 2015125 X 223mm256£20.99
Hardback - Large Print978072789413727th May 2016144 X 222mm384$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978072789413731st March 2016144 X 222mm384£22.99
Paperback978184751614526th February 2016139 X 215mm256£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice