A Wing and a Prayer
by Margaret Thornton

The death of her enigmatic great aunt takes a young woman on a journey that leads to family secrets, heartbreak and finally happiness in this absorbing family saga.

1990, Blackpool.
33-year-old Helen Burnside is shocked when she learns that her beloved Great Aunt Alice has died of a sudden heart attack, and even more surprised when Alice’s will reveals that she has bequeathed her Yorkshire cottage to Helen. Although Helen was close to her aunt, Alice was an enigmatic figure, estranged from most of her family. What led to the long-held animosity between Alice, her mother, Ada and her sister, Lizzie, and why did she leave Blackpool for Yorkshire all those years ago?

Moving into Alice’s cottage in the small Yorkshire village of Thornbeck, Helen uncovers a series of devastating family secrets dating back to the Second World War. But as Helen starts to piece together the truth about her aunty’s life, it seems her own is about to travel in unexpected and life-changing directions.

Reviews

Fans of Debbie Macomber who enjoy historical fiction will enjoy this breezy read

Booklist

Thornton's gentle romance is perfect for fans of Deborah Macomber and Jan Karori

Booklist on First Impressions

Margaret Thornton

View author page

Editions

A Wing and a Prayer by Margaret Thornton is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278894851st September 2019147 X 224mm256$28.99
Hardback978072788948531st May 2019147 X 224mm256£20.99
Ebook97814483023381st July 2019N/A256$10.99
Ebook97814483023381st July 2019N/A256£8.99
Paperback97817802961667th April 2020140 X 215mm256$17.95
Paperback978178029616631st January 2020140 X 215mm256£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice