Before I Sleep
by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The clock is ticking for DCI Slider when a woman goes missing. Can he find her – and does she even want to be found?

“[Slider is] one of Britain’s most engaging coppers” Booklist

Felicity Holland is missing.

She left her handsome West London house to go to her weekly pottery class and didn’t come back. She’s a mature, sensible woman with a stable home life and a happy marriage – no reason to abscond. Her distraught husband is convinced she must have been snatched.

DCI Bill Slider and his team know that when a woman goes missing, you have to move fast if there’s to be a hope of finding her alive. But with no evidence of foul play – nothing to go on at all – where do you even start looking?

The clock is ticking. But as Slider tries to retrace the last known movements of Felicity Holland, he is led ever further down a dark and twisted path into the secret past of this beautiful, enigmatic woman.

This critically-acclaimed British police procedural series is a great choice for fans of Catherine Aird, Ann Cleeves and Peter James. If you haven’t met Bill Slider and his team, why not start now?


“Another satisfying mystery starring one of Britain's most engaging coppers”

Booklist on Dying Fall

“Fans of Catherine Aird’s witty Inspector C.D. Sloan books will be hooked”

Publishers Weekly on Dying Fall

Outstanding . . . Harrod-Eagles’ latest DCI Bill Slider novel brings the series to a new level

Booklist Starred Review of Cruel as the Grave

“[This series is in] a league of its own . . . Will garner new readers and delight loyal fans”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Cruel as the Grave

“A witty, thoughtful mystery . . . Fans of Deborah Crombie’s ‘Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James’ series will be moved by this carefully constructed tale”

Library Journal Starred Review of Headlong

“Dialogue sparkling with wit and humor . . . Readers will wish for Slider’s career to continue for many years to come”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Headlong

“Highly entertaining . . . Harrod-Eagles shows once again why this series ranks high among contemporary British police procedurals”

Publishers Weekly on Shadow Play

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of over ninety books, including the internationally acclaimed Bill Slider mysteries and her Morland Dynasty series, which has sold over 100,000 copies. cynthiaharrodeagles.comCynthia Harrod-Eagles was born and educated in London and had a variety of jobs in the commercial world before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of the internationally acclaimed Bill Slider mysteries and the historical Morland Dynasty series. She lives in London, is married with three children and enjoys music, wine, gardening, horses and the English countryside.

View author page


Before I Sleep by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483061901st February 2023130 X 197mm256$29.99
Hardback97814483061907th February 2023130 X 197mm256£21.99
Ebook97814483062067th February 2023N/A256$24.99
Ebook97814483062067th February 2023N/A256£12.99
Hardback - Large Print978144831269627th February 2024142 X 220mm368$38.99
Hardback - Large Print978144831269628th December 2023142 X 220mm368£23.99
Paperback978144830621331st October 2023131 X 197mm256$18.99
Paperback978144830621331st August 2023131 X 197mm256£13.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice