Bloodline
by Priscilla Masters

Joanna Piercy must rescue an elderly man from a hostage situation that has chilling roots in the past in this enthralling mystery.

Detective Inspector Joanna Piercy’s joy at her close colleague Detective Sergeant Mike Korpanski’s return to work is short-lived. Elderly Joseph Holden has been taken hostage in his secluded mansion overlooking Rudyard Lake by an armed intruder. And the hostage taker insists he will only speak to her.

With just a four-day hostage negotiation course under her belt, Joanna is feeling the heat. How does the hostage taker know her name? What does he want? As the questions multiply and Rudyard Lake is sealed off by an armed response unit, Joanna is about to discover that the roots of this shocking event lie deeply buried in a terrible crime – a crime that happened far away and many years ago . . .

Set in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, featuring a compelling heroine and a stunning final revelation, this page-turning mystery is perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths, L.J. Ross, Ruth Rendell and Jane A. Adams.

Reviews

“A riveting police procedural focusing on guilt, frustration, and the many varieties of love”

Kirkus Reviews on Almost a Whisper

“An excellent choice for those who enjoy intricately plotted British mysteries”

Booklist on Almost a Whisper

“Fans of traditional police procedurals will find a lot to like”

Publishers Weekly on Almost a Whisper

“An absorbing, character-driven police procedural with some provocative twists”

Kirkus Reviews on Blood on the Rocks

“Well-plotted … Fans of character-driven police procedurals will be rewarded”

Publishers Weekly on Blood on the Rocks

“Tantalizing … Piercy’s search for the truth takes her from a tidy but sterile suburban home into a seedier, sadder, and more threatening world”

Publishers Weekly on Crooked Street

“A tightly plotted mystery ... sharply drawn characters ... intriguing story”

Booklist on Crooked Street

“Briskly paced … Readers will enjoy the neatly turned surprise ending”

Publishers Weekly on Guilty Waters

Priscilla Masters

Priscilla Masters is the author of the successful ‘Martha Gunn’ series, as well as the ‘Joanna Piercy’ novels and a series of medical mysteries featuring Dr Claire Roget. She lives near the Shropshire/Staffordshire border.

View author page

Editions

Bloodline by Priscilla Masters is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483158717th January 2025N/A224$14.99
Ebook97814483158717th January 2025N/A224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice