Cold Bones
by Jane A. Adams

Henry Johnstone has retired from his role as detective chief inspector, but is drawn back to an old case in Lincolnshire by an astonishing development in this page-turning mystery.

1931, Lincolnshire. Everyone thought that the young man who attacked Robert Hanson in a field three years ago before fleeing the scene was responsible for his death, including Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone. Now retired from Scotland Yard and working as a private investigator, a shocking confession draws Henry back to the case. But is it worth stirring up old passions and bitter rivalries to right the wrongs of the past? Meanwhile, Inspector Mickey Hitchens is investigating a chilling case of arson and murder – and his old boss and mentor Henry’s assistance could be the key to unlocking the case . . .

Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Jeanne M. Dams and Agatha Christie will love this absorbing historical mystery that explores social prejudice and rural traditions in 1930s England.

Reviews

“Puzzles aplenty for coppers young and old”

Kirkus Reviews on >b>The Room with Eight Windows

“Complex and cleverly plotted, this book is highly recommended”

Mystery People on The Room with Eight Windows

“Lovers of tweedy English murder mysteries will find much to like”

Publishers Weekly on The Girl In the Yellow Dress

“A fitting swan song for Adams’ dynamic duo”

Kirkus Reviews on The Girl in the Yellow Dress

“Excellent . . . Adams effortlessly conveys the police procedures, business practices, and social mores of the period. Fans of golden age mysteries will be delighted”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Old Sins

“Vivid . . . well-constructed . . . will appeal to the Downton Abbey crowd”

Booklist on The Good Wife

“Fast-paced fun”

Kirkus Reviews on The Good Wife

“Appealing characters . . . Fans of historical police procedurals will be satisfied”

Publishers Weekly on The Good Wife

“A cautionary tale . . . about the perils of getting what you wish for”

Kirkus Reviews on Bright Young Things

“A dense and atmospheric plot with plenty of surprises, authentic historical details, and intriguing characters . . . make this one a good pick for devotees of fans of British historical mysteries.”

Booklist

Jane A. Adams

Jane A. Adams was born in Leicestershire and still lives there – even though it is too far from the sea. She teaches creative writing and writing skills, mentors other writers for various arts organizations and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a Royal Literary Fund Associate Fellow. Her first book, The Greenway, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award and for the Author’s Club Best First Novel Award. When not writing she can often be found drawing racing dodos and armoured hares and the occasional octopus.As well as the Henry Johnstone series, Adams is the author of the highly acclaimed Naomi Blake and Rina Martin mystery series.

View author page

Editions

Cold Bones by Jane A. Adams is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483154443rd December 2024N/A224$14.99
Ebook97814483154443rd December 2024N/A224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice