Dead Lucky
by Glenis Wilson

Jump jockey Harry Radcliffe is thrown into another dark mystery when a good friend is left fighting for his life after being struck by a bullet.

A day of celebration quickly turns into a nightmare for champion jockey Harry Radcliffe and his friend, horsebox driver Keith Whelan, when Keith is brutally shot in the head while driving the pair back from an engagement party. But was the bullet that smashed through the horsebox windscreen really meant for Keith, or for Harry himself? Harry escapes unscathed from the bloody scene, but Keith is left fighting for his life in hospital. It seems that Harry is dead lucky to be alive.

Despite his recent vow to focus solely on his racing, Harry determines to find out who committed such a brutal act, and quickly finds himself drawn into horse racing’s dark and dangerous underbelly. Will his pursuit of justice for Keith prove to be a deadly step too far?

Reviews

“An entertaining read for fans of horse racing and lovers of all things equine”

Booklist

“Excellent racing and track sequences”

Kirkus Reviews

“An entertaining read, with particular appeal to fans of Dick and Felix Francis”

Booklist on Dead Heat

“The racing sequences are excellent”

Kirkus Reviews on Dead Heat

“Solid writing, a twisty plot, a likable hero, and plenty of horse-racing ambience make for an entertaining read”

Booklist on Dead Reckoning

“Flies out of the stalls faster than Frankel . . . Francis fans should not be disappointed”

Racing Post on Dead Reckoning

“A compelling story, plenty of action, taut suspense, and realistic descriptions of a jockey’s world, this one follows perfectly in the Dick Francis tradition”

Booklist on Dead on Course

“Intricately and ingeniously plotted . . . Wilson’s alluring equine mystery will ease the pangs of those still mourning Francis and enrapture readers of John Francome”

Library Journal Starred Review of Dead Certainty

“Gripping . . . a must-read for fans of Dick and Felix Francis and crime thriller fans in general”

Racing Post on Dead Lucky

Glenis Wilson

Glenis Wilson was born and still lives in the cottage built by her great-grandfather in 1901, in Radcliffe-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, where she does a lot of her writing in the big wild garden. She is a member of the RNA and CWA. She is also a qualified Reflexologist and Spiritual Healer of long standing.

View author page

Editions

Dead Lucky by Glenis Wilson is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483068173rd May 2022130 X 200mm224$28.99
Hardback978144830681724th February 2022130 X 200mm224£20.99
Hardback97814483068173rd May 2022130 X 200mm224$28.99
Ebook97814483068241st April 2022N/A224$24.99
Ebook97814483068241st April 2022N/A224£20.99
Ebook97814483068241st April 2022N/A224$24.99
Hardback - Large Print978144830957328th February 2023147 X 222mm336$36.95
Paperback978144830683127th December 2022138 X 216mm224$17.95
Paperback978144830683127th October 2022138 X 216mm224£12.99
Paperback978144830683127th December 2022138 X 216mm224$17.95
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice