Flesh and Blood
by David Mark

Killer secrets. Killer crimes – the unmissable new DS McAvoy thriller from the Sunday Times best-selling, Kindle chart-topping author

“McAvoy is a true original” Mick Herron

DS Aector McAvoy is on a well-deserved family holiday when the news reaches him that he’s been attacked and left for dead on one of Hull’s most well-to-do streets.

It comes as something of a shock. But not as much as the discovery of who’s really been attacked – and his growing realization it’s no coincidence he’s far from home, in an isolated, rural campsite, on today of all days.

McAvoy’s superior officer – and best friend – DS Trish Pharaoh has been keeping secrets. Secrets that are catching up with her.

Secrets that could kill them all . . .

David Mark brings Hull to dark, brutal life in this gripping novel in the critically acclaimed DS McAvoy series – a perfect pick for fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

Reviews

“A hair-raising procedural [that] highlights unselfish love, sacrifice, and man’s inhumanity to man”

Kirkus Reviews on Blind Justice

“[Delivers] the kind of grisly torture and murder scenes that have rightly linked his work with that of Val McDermid

Booklist on Blind Justice

“Polished prose, lovable recurring characters, and a stunning revelation make this a mystery to savor”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Past Life

“A fine police procedural . . . Ian Rankin fans will be pleased”

Publishers Weekly on Past Life

“[Mark is] on the level of Scottish and English contemporaries such as Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Peter Robinson

Library Journal Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“To call Mark’s novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“Strong prose, intriguing characters, and high tension make this a standout”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Dead Pretty

“Excellent . . . weaves a complicated web of deception, betrayal, and violence as the action builds to a stunning conclusion”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Taking Pity

David Mark

David Mark spent seven years as crime reporter for the Yorkshire Post and now writes full-time. The first novel in his DS McAvoy series, Dark Winter, was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel (where he was Reader in Residence) and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. Dead Pretty was longlisted for the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger in 2016. He lives in Northumberland with his family.

View author page

Editions

Flesh and Blood by David Mark is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483093756th June 2023147 X 222mm256$31.99
Ebook97814483093826th June 2023N/A256$24.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice