For Better, For Worse
by Elizabeth Jeffrey

A war widow finds new love in this absorbing First World War romance

Newly widowed after a whirlwind wartime romance, Stella Nolan is preparing to meet her late husband’s family for the first time. But not all her new in-laws are prepared to offer Stella a warm welcome. The war has left a bitter legacy and at Warren’s End Stella finds a family riven with tension, disappointments, shameful secrets and bitter quarrels. In particular, Stella’s new sister-in-law Rosalie makes her hostility plain, and it’s not always easy for Stella to stand up to her overbearing mother-in-law.

An unforeseen turn of events means that Stella ends up staying with the Nolan family a great deal longer than she had planned – and her extended visit is destined to bring joy, heartbreak, scandal – and unexpected love…

Reviews

“A smart and compelling novel. Fans of Downton Abbey and Upstairs, Downstairs will enjoy another journey to the grand mansions of England and portrayal of the fascinating people who live there.”

Booklist Starred Review

“A very readable and entertaining romance. Jeffrey pulls out all the stops … with a hankies-at-the-ready happy ending that is as poignant as it is satisfying - Rookhurst Hall”

Booklist

“This gentle rags-to-riches story will appeal to all romance fans … rich in historical ambience and appealing characters - The Thirteenth Child”

Booklist

Elizabeth Jeffrey

View author page

Editions

For Better, For Worse by Elizabeth Jeffrey is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788301830th April 2013144 X 224mm224£20.99
Hardback978072788301830th April 2013144 X 224mm224£20.99
Ebook978178010425612th August 2013N/A224$6.99
Ebook978178010425612th August 2013N/A224£4.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice