Headlong
by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Bill Slider and his team investigate the death of a prominent literary agent in this intriguing contemporary mystery.

When one of London’s best-known literary agents is found dead in strange circumstances, having fallen headlong from his office window, DCI Slider is under pressure from the Borough Commander to confirm a case of accidental death. But when the evidence points to murder, Slider and his team find themselves uncovering some decidedly scandalous secrets in the suave and successful Ed Wiseman’s past.

An embittered ex-wife. A discarded mistress. A frustrated would-be author. A disgruntled former employee. Many had reason to hold a grudge against the late lamented literary agent. But who would feel strongly enough to kill him? Any leads in the investigation seem only to result in more questions – not least of which is the identity of the elusive Calliope Hunt. Who is she – and what is her connection to the train of events?

Reviews

This intricately plotted police procedural is filled with puns, wordplay, and cop humor. Slider and his team of believable police detectives are likable in this witty, thoughtful mystery … Fans of Deborah Crombie’s “Duncan Kincaid” and “Gemma James” series will be moved by this carefully constructed tale

Library Journal Starred Review, February PICK OF THE MONTH

An immensely enjoyable ride … Readers will wish for Slider’s career to continue for many years to come

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Harrod-Eagles salts the narrative with witty repartee, including a wealth of clever puns, all of which help make reading this particular book and the entire series such a treat

Booklist

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles was born and educated in London and had a variety of jobs in the commercial world before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of the internationally acclaimed Bill Slider mysteries and the historical Morland Dynasty series. She lives in London, is married with three children and enjoys music, wine, gardening, horses and the English countryside.

View author page

Editions

Headlong by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278883651st February 2019143 X 224mm224$28.99
Hardback978072788836531st October 2018143 X 224mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483017131st February 2019N/A224$10.99
Ebook97814483017131st February 2019N/A224£8.99
Paperback97818475196101st November 2019140 X 218mm224$17.95
Paperback978184751961030th August 2019140 X 218mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice