Her Prodigal Husband
by Becky Masterman

From the award-winning author of the internationally-bestselling Brigid Quinn thrillers, which have been translated into 20 languages, comes this gripping series spin-off: an upmarket novel of domestic suspense about a pair of sisters nicknamed Malice and Lethal, and a husband who vanishes into thin air, only to reappear and throw a bomb into both their lives

Alice Einstein – known as “Malice” to her former schoolfriends – likes to tell herself stories. There’s a good one she’s workshopping about how, despite once being a critically acclaimed literary novelist, she’s ended up blocked and uninspired, living in her timid, conflict-averse sister Liesel’s spare room.

But then Liesel sends her an SOS worthy of a thriller novel. The horror! The horror! Sam is back.

Sam, Liesel’s wealthy ex-husband, vanished ten years ago, leaving her a chunk of money but no explanation. Sam is handsome, charming, manipulative . . . and now he claims he’s sick. But Alice, with her experience of spinning tales, knows a liar when she sees one.

Haunted by a childhood tragedy that gave birth to the cruel nickname “Lethal”, Liesel now specialises in saving things: dogs, children, sisters. Telling herself it’s time she returned the favor, Alice engages the services of Brigid Quinn, a hardboiled local private investigator with a shady past, to help her get rid of Sam for good.

But as the plot thickens, Alice begins to wonder if she knows anyone involved – most of all herself – quite as well as she thinks . . .

Packed with quirky, colorful characters, and with a nail-biting, slow-burn plot, Her Prodigal Husband is a nail-biting novel of domestic suspense that raises thought-provoking questions about self-deception, the power of stories, and what it means to be a family, and marks the long-awaited return of Brigid Quinn, “one of the most memorable FBI agents since Clarice Starling” (Publishers Weekly).

Reviews

“A must-read for fans of domestic thrillers”

Booklist on Maternal Instinct

“Masterman keeps the tension high throughout this page-turner”

Publishers Weekly on We Were Killers Once

“Will compel both new readers and old fans to cheer Brigid on”

Library Journal on A Twist of the Knife

“Gripping . . . [will] draw in fans of Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane

Booklist on Fear the Darkness

“Fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen will love this book”

Booklist on Rage Against the Dying

“Chilling, smart . . . and what a voice”

Gillian Flynn on Rage Against the Dying

“A thriller that must be read”

Lisa Gardner on Rage Against the Dying

“Masterman lives up to her name in this masterly combination of compelling character and plot to keep the pages turning”

Library Journal Starred Review of Rage Against the Dying

“One of the most memorable FBI agents since Clarice Starling

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Rage Against the Dying

“[Readers] are in for a ride as thrilling as they can find outside the pages of Jeffery Deaver

Kirkus Reviews on Rage Against the Dying

Becky Masterman

Becky Masterman has worked as an actor, playwright, and an editor for a forensic science and law enforcement press. Her debut thriller was a finalist for the Edgar and the Anthony Awards for Best First Novel and for the CWA Gold Dagger, and her books have been translated into 20 languages. As well as a series of novels featuring retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn, including spin-off Her Prodigal Husband, she is the author of standalone thriller Maternal Instinct. She lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her husband.

View author page

Editions

Her Prodigal Husband by Becky Masterman is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483119727th January 2025N/A288$14.99
Ebook97814483119727th January 2025N/A288£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice