Hollow Bones
by Erica Wright

An eerie Appalachian town. A fatal fire. Three women whose fates intertwine . . .

Essa Montgomery and her brother Clyde were brought up in New Hope, a serpent-handling church in Vintera, West Virginia, until the shocking deaths of both their parents closed the church down. Now twenty, reclusive Essa lives alone in her childhood home in the shadow of New Hope, which to her horror has been taken over by a new charismatic, unsettling pastor who continues the dangerous practice. So when the church burns down, she’s glad – until she learns that two people died in the blaze, and her brother’s the prime suspect . . .

Life has made Juliet Usher, who scratches a living as a psychic medium, both assertive and ruthless. With a baby on the way, it’s the worst possible time for her partner Clyde to be arrested. She’ll do anything to survive and keep him out of prison – no matter what it takes!

Merrit Callahan has always been ambitious. A striving news reporter, she’s willing to go the extra mile and break the rules to get the big scoop. And in small-town Vintera, she thinks she might have found the story that will be the making of her career.

Fans of Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek and Eli Cranor’s Ozark Dogs will love this gripping and creepy mystery novel inspired by Shakespeare’s Measure for Measure using a contemporary setting filled with shocking twists and turns!

Reviews

“The action builds to a thoroughly satisfying and exciting finale. Wright provides it all: clean prose, captivating characters, a gripping mystery, and a wry look at Hollywood glamour and decay”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Famous in Cedarville

“Wright successfully combines small-town sensibility with the money and glitz of twentieth-century Hollywood in a suspenseful mystery populated with winning characters”

Booklist on Famous in Cedarville

“A clever little whodunnit”

The New York Times on Famous in Cedarville

“A twisty and engrossing thriller, one of those rare page-turners that you have to force yourself to slow down and savor the lyrical prose and atmospheric scenes . . . It’s the kind of book that stays with you long after you’ve read it”

Daniela Petrova, author of Her Daughter's Mother on Famous in Cedarville

“Fascinating and fully developed characters . . . Wright's vividly told tale is studded with wry wit”

Publishers Weekly on The Blue Kingfisher

“Tense undercover scenes paired with Stone's struggle to rebuild her life after her stint with the NYPD create a gripping addition to the recent trend in crime fiction of portraying the dangers facing America's immigrants”

Booklist on The Blue Kingfisher

“Readers will want to see more”

Publishers Weekly on The Red Chameleon

“Aficionados of humorous mysteries like the Stephanie Plum series and the Lucky O'Toole series by Deborah Coonts will want to add this to their reading lists”

Booklist on The Red Chameleon

“Wright's debut novel offers a promising start to a hard-boiled series featuring an idiosyncratic female PI whose quirkiness will appeal to fans of Linda Barnes or Karen Kijewski”

Library Journal on The Red Chameleon

“[A] fast-paced, quirky debut”

Kirkus Reviews on The Red Chameleon

Erica Wright

Erica Wright is the author of seven books, including the essay collection Snake and the crime novel Famous in Cedarville. She is a former editorial board member of Alice James Books and was the Poetry Editor at Guernica Magazine for more than a decade. She currently lives in Knoxville, Tennessee with her family.

View author page

Editions

Hollow Bones by Erica Wright is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483139526th August 2024N/A208$24.99
Ebook97814483139526th August 2024N/A208£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice