Late for His Own Funeral
by Elaine Viets

Death Investigator Angela Richman suspects foul play when a disgraced resident of Chouteau Forest survives one car crash only to then be involved in another.

Until his Porsche careened off the road killing him instantly and not leaving much of him behind, Sterling Chaney was an influential member of Chouteau Forest – home of the one percenters. As the eulogies at his funeral commence, an unexpected guest interrupts . . . Sterling.

The story attracts widespread media coverage. Sterling’s the man who showed up late for his own funeral. He revels in the spotlight, until it’s revealed he earned his fortune via sordid means and exploiting the women who worked for him. It leaves him vilified and shunned by Chouteau society. Then there’s another fatal crash.

This time, Death Investigator Angela Richman is tasked with confirming that Sterling has perished. But her investigation reveals more questions than answers. Were both crashes merely accidents, or was someone doubly determined to kill Sterling?

Reviews

“Angela’s usual snark and fondness for wine help propel the twisty plot”

Publishers Weekly

“Will appeal to fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs”

Booklist

“Colorful characters match the crafty plot twists. Viets consistently entertains”

Publishers Weekly on Life Without Parole

“Viets’ fans should enjoy her latest corpse-filled outing”

Kirkus Reviews on Life Without Parole

“This fast-paced series entry will appeal to fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs

Booklist on Life Without Parole

“Viets produces chills with a murder hunt turned on its head”

Kirkus Reviews on Death Grip

“Readers will enjoy the colorful characters as well as Angela’s budding romance with police officer Chris Ferretti”

Booklist on Death Grip

Elaine Viets

Elaine Viets returns to her hardboiled roots with her Angela Richman, Death Investigator series. A Star Is Dead is the latest, following Fire and Ashes and Brain Storm, and the novella Ice Blonde. Elaine has 34 bestselling mysteries in four series, including the Dead-End Job mysteries and the Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper series. A St Louis native, Elaine took the Medicolegal Death Investigator Training Course for forensic professionals at St Louis University. She has previously won the Agatha, Anthony and Lefty Awards. Elaine lives in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, with her husband, writer and reviewer Don Crinklaw.

View author page

Editions

Late for His Own Funeral by Elaine Viets is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278502945th July 2022145 X 223mm240$28.99
Hardback97807278502945th July 2022147 X 222mm240£20.99
Hardback97807278502945th July 2022145 X 223mm240$28.99
Ebook97814483092525th July 2022N/A240$24.99
Ebook97814483092525th July 2022N/A240£20.99
Ebook97814483092525th July 2022N/A240$24.99
Paperback978144830931328th March 2023138 X 216mm240$17.95
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice