Life Without Parole
by Elaine Viets

Fans of J.A. Jance and Lisa Gardner will love this exploration of the little-known job of death investigator in small-town Missouri where Angela Richman finds herself investigating the lives and secrets of the one percenters in Chouteau Forest.

Chouteau Forest’s wealthy are being targeted by the Ghost Burglars, who’ve carried out twelve burglaries over two weeks. So far, there’s been no bloodshed . . . until Tom Lockridge is brutally slain inside his marble mansion during the latest raid.

Angela Richman, death investigator for Chouteau County, is called to assess the scene and the body by Detective Jace Budewitz. As they investigate, Jace becomes obsessed with proving the Ghost Burglars weren’t involved in the murder.

Can the burglars be ruled out so easily? Is there more to Cynthia Lockridge, Tom’s wife, seeking solace in the arms of the ambitious local lawyer Wesley Desloge? What about Tom’s long-suffering daughter, or his loose-lipped housekeeper or office manager? Everyone is keeping secrets, but whose erupted into violence that fateful night?


“Viets produces chills with a murder hunt turned on its head”

Kirkus Reviews on Death Grip

“Readers will enjoy the colorful characters as well as Angela’s budding romance with police officer Chris Ferretti”

Booklist on Death Grip

“Skillfully plotted … Witty dialogue and well-defined characters, including plucky and intelligent Angela, lift this wry look at the trappings of celebrity. Fans and newcomers alike will be pleased”

Publishers Weekly on A Star Is Dead

“Will satisfy both procedural and cozy fans who like a good puzzle”

Booklist on A Star Is Dead

“An intriguing mystery featuring a character in the little-known job of death investigator”

Library Journal on A Star Is Dead

Elaine Viets

Elaine Viets returns to her hardboiled roots with her Angela Richman, Death Investigator series. A Star Is Dead is the latest, following Fire and Ashes and Brain Storm, and the novella Ice Blonde. Elaine has 34 bestselling mysteries in four series, including the Dead-End Job mysteries and the Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper series. A St Louis native, Elaine took the Medicolegal Death Investigator Training Course for forensic professionals at St Louis University. She has previously won the Agatha, Anthony and Lefty Awards. Elaine lives in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, with her husband, writer and reviewer Don Crinklaw.

View author page


Life Without Parole by Elaine Viets is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278502872nd November 2021147 X 225mm240$28.99
Hardback978072785028726th August 2021147 X 225mm240£20.99
Ebook97814483056501st October 2021N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483056501st October 2021N/A240£7.99
Paperback978178029827628th June 2022139 X 217mm240$17.95
Paperback978178029827628th April 2022139 X 217mm240£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice