Man on Fire
by Humphrey Hawksley

A tense firefight on the Russian-American border heralds the start of a terrifying high-stakes mission for special forces agent Major Rake Ozenna in this gripping espionage thriller.

Instructed to guide in a speed boat crossing from Russia in the Bering Strait, special forces Major Rake Ozenna watches in horror as the operation culminates in a fatal firefight – and the loss of vital intelligence of a deadly new weapon. A weapon of unimaginable power. A weapon that, if it were unleashed, would cripple civilization as we know it. But who sabotaged the mission? Who possesses the weapon – and what is their ultimate goal?

Rake’s search takes him to the remote outpost of Uelen on the Russian coast – and the discovery that he is up against a formidable enemy from his past. As world leaders gather in Bonn for the signing of the new European security treaty, Rake enters a desperate race against time to prevent a catastrophe beyond imagining.

This fast-paced, impeccably researched, highly topical thriller is perfect for readers of CLIVE CUSSLER, LEE CHILD and ROBERT LUDLUM.

Reviews

A multi-layered tale with plenty of fast-paced action that will hook thriller fans

Booklist on Man on Edge

A hard-as-nails hero, an out-of-the-ordinary location, and oodles of high-action encounters everything readers want in a political thriller

Library Journal on Man on Edge

The pace is furious, the casualty list breathtaking

Kirkus Reviews on Man on Edge

An up-to-the-minute, page-turning spy thriller with the atmosphere of a Cold War classic

CHARLES CUMMING, Sunday Times bestselling author on Man on Edge

Knuckle-whitening suspense, bloody violence, dirty tricks, and plenty of surprising twists make this a gripping, can't-put-it-down read

Booklist on Man on Ice

Authentic settings, non-stop action, backstabbing villains, and rough justice ... keeps you ready for the gut punch

STEVE BERRY, NYT-bestselling author on Man on Ice

Humphrey Hawksley

Humphrey Hawksley is a foreign correspondent for the BBC, a regular speaker and panellist at Intelligence Squared and the Royal Geographical Society, and many literary festivals. Hawksley’s writing has appeared in the Guardian, The Times, Financial Times, International Herald Tribune and Yale Global. Hawksley’s television documentaries include The Curse of Gold and Bitter Sweet, Aid Under Scrutiny, Old Man Atom and Danger: Democracy at Work@hwhawksley humphreyhawksley.com

View author page

Editions

Man on Fire by Humphrey Hawksley is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278903446th July 2021146 X 225mm256$28.99
Hardback978072789034429th April 2021146 X 225mm256£20.99
Ebook97814483052921st June 2021N/A256$6.99
Ebook97814483052921st June 2021N/A256£4.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice