Murder in the Park
by Jeanne M. Dams

Introducing spirited female sleuth Elizabeth Fairchild in the first of the brilliant new Oak Park village mystery series, set in 1920s Illinois.

June, 1925. Having been widowed in the Great War, Elizabeth Fairchild lives a quiet life at the home of her wealthy parents in genteel Oak Park village, Illinois. Although she does her best to avoid emotional entanglements, determined never to be hurt again, Elizabeth forms a close friendship with gentle Mr Anthony, who owns the local antiques store.

But tragedy strikes when Mr Anthony is found stabbed to death in the alley behind his shop. Why would anyone murder a mild-mannered antiques dealer who simply loved beautiful things? A robbery gone wrong? A gangland execution? Or could it have something to do with the mysterious customer who bought a gold pocket watch from Mr Anthony on the day he died?

When one of her father’s oldest friends is accused of the crime, Elizabeth determines to expose the real killer. But her investigations soon attract unwelcome attention. With gangsters moving into the neighbourhood from nearby Chicago, Oak Park is no longer the safe haven it once was. Could Elizabeth be seriously out of her depth?

Reviews

“Dams really is a fine character builder ... Thoroughly engaging, with plenty of twists and a solid dark streak running through it”

Booklist on The Bath Conspiracy

“Notable for its charming protagonists and historical detail”

Kirkus Reviews on The Bath Conspiracy

“The author's tale-telling and dialogue ... draw readers in”

Booklist on Death Comes to Durham

“Tension runs high until the surprise ending”

Kirkus Reviews on Death in the Garden City

“Anglophiles and history buffs will enjoy ... Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Alexander McCall Smith”

Booklist on A Dagger Before Me

Jeanne M. Dams

Jeanne M. Dams, an American, is a devout Anglophile who has wished she could live in England ever since her first visit in 1963. Fortunately, her alter ego, Dorothy Martin, can do just that. Jeanne lives in South Bend, Indiana, with a varying population of cats.

View author page

Editions

Murder in the Park by Jeanne M. Dams is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278504541st March 2022150 X 228mm208$28.99
Hardback978072785045430th December 2021150 X 228mm208£20.99
Ebook97814483071421st February 2022N/A224$24.99
Ebook97814483071421st February 2022N/A224£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

The Oak Park village mystery Series