Murder on the Home Front
by Jessica Ellicott

Disrespect, disdain – and dead bodies! It’s all in a day’s work for WPC Billie Harkness, a pioneering female police officer protecting the home front in this gripping WWII British historical mystery.

“A fresh and different take on WWII stories with an appealing young heroine” New York Times bestselling author Rhys Bowen on Death in a Blackout

1940. It’s been a month since rector’s daughter Billie Harkness left her rural village to make a fresh start in the northern city of Hull. Now she has a new home and an exciting new job as one of only two female police constables in the whole city. But Hull still feels like a foreign country, and some people are less than impressed by the idea of a woman doing a ‘man’s job’.

Facing disrespect from her colleagues and suspicion from the public, Billie throws herself into her work. The tasks she’s assigned might be menial, but she’s determined to do her bit for the war effort. The chance to prove her worth comes when during a search for a missing air raid shelter inspector, she makes a shocking discovery: his dead body, in a shelter that’s been stripped of all its valuables.

The officers summoned to investigate the scene believe it’s an open and shut case, but Billie’s not so sure. Asking questions means making enemies though – and little does she know that vile rumors about her are spreading, with the power to spoil everything she’s tried so hard to achieve . . .

Murder on the Home Front is the second stunning mystery in the new WPC Billie Harkness series. It’s a great choice for readers of Jacqueline Winspear, Rhys Bowen and Susan Elia MacNeal.

Reviews

“A plucky heroine, a meaty mystery, and a satisfying conclusion”

Booklist on Death in a Blackout

“Brisk and colorful”

Kirkus Reviews on Death in a Blackout

“A fresh and different take on WW2 stories as an appealing young heroine finds herself investigating petty crimes and divided loyalties in the midst of the Blitz. Shades of Foyles War

Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author, on Death in a Blackout

“A treat for readers”

Publishers Weekly on Murder Comes to Call

“Captivating”

Publishers Weekly on Murder Flies the Coop

“This historical cozy will appeal to those who enjoy Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher series”

Booklist on Murder Cuts the Mustard

“A heaping helping of period English country charm”

Kirkus Reviews on Murder Cuts the Mustard

“Witty prose, distinctive characters, and an enchanting setting all make for a winner”

Publishers Weekly on Murder Cuts the Mustard

“Strong sense of place and time”

Library Journal Starred Review of Murder in an English Village

“Spectacular series launch”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Murder in an English Village

Jessica Ellicott

Agatha award nominee Jessica Ellicott loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers and throwing parties. A member of Wicked Authors, Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers, she lives in northern New England with her dark and mysterious husband, exuberant children and a precocious poodle named Sam.

View author page

Editions

Murder on the Home Front by Jessica Ellicott is available in the following formats

Hardback97814483065342nd May 2023147 X 222mm256$31.99
Ebook97814483066022nd May 2023N/A256$24.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice