Murder, Sweet Murder
by Eleanor Kuhns

Will Rees accompanies his wife to Boston to help clear her estranged father’s name in this gripping mystery set in the early nineteenth century.

January, 1801. When Lydia’s estranged father is accused of murder, Will Rees escorts her to Boston to uncover the truth. Marcus Farrell is believed to have murdered one of his workers, a boy from Jamaica where he owns a plantation. Marcus swears he’s innocent. However, a scandal has been aroused by his refusal to answer questions and accusations he bribed officials.

As Will and Lydia investigate, Marcus’s brother, Julian, is shot and killed. This time, all fingers point towards James Morris, Lydia’s brother. Is someone targeting the family? Were the family quarreling over the family businesses and someone lashed out? What’s Marcus hiding and why won’t he accept help?

With the Farrell family falling apart and their reputation in tatters, Will and Lydia must solve the murders soon. But will they succeed before the murderer strikes again?

Reviews

“This sobering look at the cultural divide over slavery in the early days of the Republic deserves a wide audience. The intricate plot builds to a satisfying resolution”

Publishers Weekly on Murder on Principle

“A complex mystery that focuses on the institutional racism still sadly ingrained in the nation’s psyche”

Kirkus Reviews on Murder on Principle

“The story shines for its historical backbone and atmospheric details ... Perfect for readers of Margaret Lawrence's Hannah Trevor novels and Eliot Pattison's Bone Rattler series”

Booklist on Death in the Great Dismal

“A fascinating look at the Great Dismal Swamp and the enslaved who fled there trying to find freedom. The murder mystery is multi-faceted, with many red herrings and plot twists”

Historical Novel Society on Death in the Great Dismal

“The setting and historical detail remain sharp, with strong, descriptive prose”

Booklist on A Circle of Dead Girls

Eleanor Kuhns

Eleanor Kuhns is the 2011 winner of the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel competition for A Simple Murder. The author of seven previous Will Rees mysteries, she is now a full-time writer after a successful career as the Assistant Director at the Goshen Public Library in Orange County, New York.www.eleanor-kuhns.com

View author page

Editions

Murder, Sweet Murder by Eleanor Kuhns is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278500961st February 2022145 X 223mm224$28.99
Hardback978072785009625th November 2021145 X 223mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483073261st January 2022N/A224$24.99
Ebook97814483073261st January 2022N/A224£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice