Past Life
by David Mark

DS Aector McAvoy must face the dark, disturbing secrets of his past if he’s to keep his family safe.

The clairvoyant is found with her tongue crudely carved out, a shard of blue crystal buried deep within her mangled ribcage.

The crime scene plunges DS Aector McAvoy back twelve years, to a case from when he was starting out. An investigation that proved a turning point in his life – but one he’s tried desperately to forget.

To catch the killer, he must face his past. Face the terrible thing he did. But doing so also means facing the truth about his beloved wife Roisin, and the dark secrets she’s keeping have the power to destroy them both completely.

David Mark brings Hull to dark, brutal life in this gripping novel in the critically acclaimed DS McAvoy series – a perfect pick for fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.


“[Mark is] on the level of Scottish and English contemporaries such as DENISE MINA, VAL McDERMID, and PETER ROBINSON

Library Journal Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“To call Mark’s novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“Strong prose, intriguing characters, and high tension make this a standout”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Dead Pretty

“Excellent . . . weaves a complicated web of deception, betrayal, and violence as the action builds to a stunning conclusion”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Taking Pity

“A dark, bloody, twisting tale of love, hate, and greed you can’t put down”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Taking Pity

David Mark

David Mark spent seven years as crime reporter for the Yorkshire Post and now writes full-time. The first novel in his DS McAvoy series, Dark Winter, was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel (where he was Reader in Residence) and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. Dead Pretty was longlisted for the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger in 2016. He is also the author of the Sal Delaney police procedurals and a number of standalone thrillers. He lives in Northumberland with his family.

View author page


Past Life by David Mark is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483059191st November 2021N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483059191st November 2021N/A240£4.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice