Past Redemption
by David Mark

DI McAvoy must prevent a dangerous convict from being released on parole in the latest instalment of this acclaimed gritty police procedural series.

Decland Parfitt, one of Northumberland’s most dangerous criminals, is about to be released after fourteen years in prison. It’s up to DCS Trish Pharaoh and DI Aector McAvoy to prevent this from happening.

Parfitt’s foster daughter Ruby doesn’t believe her father is guilty of some of the worst crimes imaginable and is appealing to the parole board for him. McAvoy has to try and convince Ruby to see the real predator in Parfitt.

Meanwhile, Trish has her own investigation which could lead to more answers: tracking down a mysterious, extremely violent vigilante.

But will the duo and their team be able to stop Parfitt’s release and what does a body in the middle of a deserted road have to do with their investigation? Are there even darker forces at play that will make McAvoy question his own sanity?

Fans of Val McDermid, Ian Rankin, Denise Mina and Peter Robinson will find DI McAvoy “a true original” (Mick Herron). Another dark and immersive case from the Sunday Times best-selling, Kindle chart-topping author.


“[A] dark, creepy, twisted mystery that will keep readers awake far into the night”

Booklist Starred Review of The Burning Time

“An irresistibly charming detective cracks another colorful case”

Kirkus Reviews on The Burning Time

“An involving, nail-biting police procedural from a masterful storyteller”

Kirkus Reviews on Flesh and Blood

“A hair-raising procedural [that] highlights unselfish love, sacrifice, and man’s inhumanity to man”

Kirkus Reviews on Blind Justice

“[Delivers] the kind of grisly torture and murder scenes that have rightly linked his work with that of Val McDermid

Booklist on Blind Justice

“Polished prose, lovable recurring characters, and a stunning revelation make this a mystery to savor”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Past Life

“A fine police procedural . . . IAN RANKIN fans will be pleased”

Publishers Weekly on Past Life

“[Mark is] on the level of Scottish and English contemporaries such as DENISE MINA, VAL McDERMID, and PETER ROBINSON

Library Journal Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“To call Mark’s novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“Strong prose, intriguing characters, and high tension make this a standout”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Dead Pretty

David Mark

David Mark spent seven years as crime reporter for the Yorkshire Post and now writes full-time. The first novel in his DS McAvoy series, Dark Winter, was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel (where he was Reader in Residence) and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. Dead Pretty was longlisted for the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger in 2016. He is also the author of the Sal Delaney police procedurals and a number of standalone thrillers. He lives in Northumberland with his family.

View author page


Past Redemption by David Mark is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483120233rd December 2024N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483120233rd December 2024N/A240£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice