Scot on the Rocks
by Catriona McPherson

Lexy Campbell’s ex-husband begs for her help finding his current wife, whose disappearance mirrors that of a number of statues around California – menacing ransom note and all.

A community is devastated when the bronze statue of local legend Mama Cuento is stolen on Valentine’s Day. When Lexy Campbell arrives on the scene, a big bronze toe is found along with a ransom note – “Listen to our demands or you will never see her again. There are nine more where this came from”.

Then, Lexy’s ex-husband Bran turns up begging for help to find his wife, Brandee, who has disappeared. Lexy agrees to pitch in, but when she shows up at Bran’s house he has just discovered one of Brandee’s false nails and another ransom note with the same grisly message.

Are the two cases linked or is a copycat on the loose? Who would want to kidnap a bronze statue or, come to that, Brandee? And can Lexy put aside her hatred for Bran long enough to find out?

Reviews

McPherson’s witty third Last Ditch mystery has a line on every page to provoke a smile … Anyone who appreciates a good mystery told with nimble, sure-footed humor will have a ball

Publishers Weekly

Hilarious … A compendium of unusual characters and odd circumstances guaranteed to make you laugh out loud

Kirkus Reviews

Lexy’s unfamiliarity with Americanisms and the geography of her adopted country add humor, and the story is enhanced by its large cast of eccentric characters with their close family-like relationships

Booklist

McPherson stands apart in her ability to tell a hilarious tale while balancing the ramifications of crime . . . Another riveting cozy starring Lexy

Library Journal on Scot and Soda

A hilarious romp that's dead serious when it comes to the tricky mystery and an unexpected denouement

Kirkus Reviews on Scot and Soda

Peppered with clever red herrings, the mystery gleefully revels in the absurd

Publishers Weekly on Scot and Soda

Blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters . . . A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer

Booklist on Scot Free

Her character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet Evanovich

Library Journal Starred Review of Scot Free

Catriona McPherson

Born and raised in Edinburgh, Catriona McPherson left Edinburgh University with a PhD in Linguistics and worked in academia, as well as banking and public libraries, before taking up full-time writing in 2001. For the last ten years she has lived in Northern California with a black cat and a scientist. In 2020 she has been shortlisted for a third Mary Higgins Clark Award, for Strangers at the Gate, and won a Left Coast Crime 2020 Lefty Award for the Best Humorous Mystery for Scot and Soda.

View author page

Editions

Scot on the Rocks by Catriona McPherson is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278903132nd February 2021150 X 220mm240$28.99
Hardback978072789031330th November 2020150 X 220mm240£20.99
Ebook97814483046153rd August 2020N/A240$10.99
Ebook97814483046153rd August 2020N/A240£8.99
Hardback - Large Print978178029191827th September 2021145 X 224mm336$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978178029191829th July 2021145 X 224mm336£22.99
Paperback978178029739231st August 2021138 X 217mm240$17.95
Paperback978178029739230th June 2021138 X 217mm240£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice