The Burning Time
by David Mark

A quiet town. A horrible incident. Things that don’t add up. – The highly-anticipated latest instalment of the DS McAvoy series from the Sunday Times best-selling, Kindle chart-topping author.

“McAvoy is a true original” Mick Herron

An unexpected invite to his estranged mother’s surprise birthday party at a fancy Durham hotel gives DI Aector McAvoy and his wife Roisin a chance for a well-deserved holiday. Off-duty, and still recovering from his previous injuries, McAvoy is determined to take advantage of the all-expenses-paid break, despite the old grudges and thick tension between himself and his step-family.

However, what should have been a relaxing, if awkward, getaway weekend turns out to be a full-on nightmare, when McAvoy finds himself in the middle of a town drama that involves the tragic demise of Ishmael Piper, a rock star’s millionaire son . . . and best friend of McAvoy’s charming, bullying step-brother.

With dark secrets slowly unravelling, McAvoy needs to put his personal issues aside to unmask the evil forces behind Ishmael’s mysterious death before he becomes a victim of them himself . . .

Dark settings, dark crimes and even darker souls – the critically acclaimed DS McAvoy police procedural series is a perfect pick for fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.


“An involving, nail-biting police procedural from a masterful storyteller”

Kirkus Reviews on Flesh and Blood

“A hair-raising procedural [that] highlights unselfish love, sacrifice, and man’s inhumanity to man”

Kirkus Reviews on Blind Justice

“[Delivers] the kind of grisly torture and murder scenes that have rightly linked his work with that of Val McDermid

Booklist on Blind Justice

“Polished prose, lovable recurring characters, and a stunning revelation make this a mystery to savor”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Past Life

“A fine police procedural . . . Ian Rankin fans will be pleased”

Publishers Weekly on Past Life

“[Mark is] on the level of Scottish and English contemporaries such as Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Peter Robinson

Library Journal Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“To call Mark’s novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting”

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Cruel Mercy

“Strong prose, intriguing characters, and high tension make this a standout”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Dead Pretty

“Excellent . . . weaves a complicated web of deception, betrayal, and violence as the action builds to a stunning conclusion”

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Taking Pity

David Mark

David Mark spent seven years as crime reporter for the Yorkshire Post and now writes full-time. The first novel in his DS McAvoy series, Dark Winter, was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel (where he was Reader in Residence) and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. Dead Pretty was longlisted for the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger in 2016. He is also the author of the Sal Delaney police procedurals and a number of standalone thrillers. He lives in Northumberland with his family.

View author page


The Burning Time by David Mark is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483094055th December 2023N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483094055th December 2023N/A240£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice