The Coldest Case
by Tessa Wegert

News of a missing Instagram celebrity brings Senior Investigator Shana Merchant to a frozen island community of just eight people. When the visit turns deadly, her hunt for a killer collides with a cold case she’ll never forget . . .

It’s February in the Thousand Islands and, cut off from civilization by endless ice, eight people are overwintering on tiny, remote Running Pine. Six year-rounders, used to the hard work, isolation and freezing temperatures . . . and two newcomers: social-media stars Cary and Sylvie, whose account documenting their year on the island is garnering thousands of followers, and thousands of dollars’ worth of luxury gifts.

The long-term islanders will tell you Running Pine can be perilous – especially for city slickers who’ll do anything to get the perfect shot. So when Cary doesn’t return from ice fishing one morning, his neighbors fear the worst.

With the clock ticking to find the missing influencer, a police team are dispatched to take the dangerous journey to the island . . . but Sylvie, his frantic partner, will only talk to one person: newlywed Senior Investigator Shana Merchant.

Where is Cary – and what is it that Sylvie’s not sharing? With aspects of the case reminding Shana of an unsolved homicide from her past that haunts her still, she risks her own safety to help. But little does she know that a storm is coming – and if she doesn’t solve both crimes soon, she may become the island’s next victim . . .

The latest taut, thrilling small-town mystery featuring New York State senior investigator Shana Merchant, and set against the beautiful backdrop of the Thousand Islands, is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Ruth Ware.

Reviews

“The stakes have never been higher, and Tessa Wegert has never been in finer form. With her trademark blend of chilling, atmospheric suspense, scalpel-sharp wit, and lush, elegant prose, Wegert delivers The Coldest Case, another exhilarating installment in the Shana Merchant series that treats readers to the kind of riveting, deeply felt narrative found in the very finest thriller fiction. Don’t you dare miss it!”

E. G. Scott, international bestselling author of The Rule of Three

“An extremely well-written crime novel . . . fans of the series will not be disappointed”

Booklist on Devils at the Door

“Wegert expertly . . . keeps readers off-balance as the investigation unfolds”

Publishers Weekly on Devils at the Door

“A compelling, unique mystery with twists I never saw coming. I couldn't put it down”

Samantha Downing, bestselling author of My Lovely Wife on Devils at the Door

“Stellar . . . Devil's at the Door has all the hallmarks of this excellent series – spooky Thousand Islands atmosphere, rich characterization, and a compelling circle of suspects”

Sarah Stewart Taylor, author of the Maggie D'arcy mysteries on Devils at the Door

“An explosive small town mystery filled with delicious and deadly secrets”

Darby Kane, #1 international bestselling author of The Engagement Party on Devils at the Door

“A taut, atmospheric and compulsive thriller that had me gripped as every secret unravelled and the investigation reached its compelling conclusion”

Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man on Devils at the Door

“The complex plot and subtle characterizations elevate this above similar fare. Wegert remains a writer to watch”

Publishers Weekly on The Kind to Kill

“[Wegert has] rightly earned the badge as one of the finest talents of the past three years. And The Kind to Kill is her best novel to date”

The Strand Magazine on The Kind to Kill

“Wegert does an admirable job of generating mounting suspense”

Kirkus Reviews on The Kind to Kill

Tessa Wegert

Tessa Wegert is the author of the Shana Merchant series of mysteries. A former freelance journalist, Tessa has contributed to such publications as Forbes, The Huffington Post, Adweek, The Economist, and The Globe and Mail. Tessa grew up in Quebec and now lives with her husband and children in Connecticut, where she studies martial arts and is currently at work on her next novel.

View author page

Editions

The Coldest Case by Tessa Wegert is available in the following formats

Ebook97814483142495th November 2024N/A256$24.99
Ebook97814483142495th November 2024N/A256£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice