The Good Wife
by Jane A. Adams

A chilling murder ruins a fun day at the races in the fifth historical mystery featuring Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone.

1929. Police surgeon Dr Clive Mason is devastated when his wife Martha is found dead in an empty horsebox at Southwell Races, her handbag stolen. The Masons were enjoying a day out at the races with their friends, Dr Ephraim Phillips and his wife Nora, when Martha went to speak to a face she recognized in a crowd – and disappeared.

As Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone and Sergeant Mickey Hitchens investigate, it’s clear this wasn’t a robbery gone tragically wrong – Martha was deliberately murdered. Why did the life of this well-respected, popular member of the community meet such a tragic end? Henry and Mickey soon learn that the Masons’ marriage was not what it seemed, and make a number of shocking discoveries. Who was Martha Mason, and what secrets was she hiding?

Reviews

The vivid depiction of England in the twenties and well-constructed plot will appeal to the Downton Abbey crowd

Booklist

Fast-paced fun

Kirkus Reviews

Appealing characters … Fans of historical police procedurals will be satisfied

Publishers Weekly

Skillfully plotted … Adams shines light on the darker realities of the times without being heavyhanded

Publishers Weekly on The Clockmaker

This engaging procedural may also appeal to fans of Marjorie Eccles and Jacqueline Winspear

Booklist on Kith and Kin

Outstanding ... Historical fans are in store for an edifying treat

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Kith and Kin

Offers not just a solidly constructed mystery but also the welcome return of a character we hope to read more about in the future

Booklist on Death Scene

Jane A. Adams

Jane A. Adams is a British writer of psychological thrillers. Her first book, The Greenway, was nominated for a CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and an Author’s Club Best First Novel Award. Adams has a degree in Sociology, was once lead vocalist in a folk rock band, and is married with two children. She lives in Leicester. Her writings are comparable to the work of Lisa Appignanesi, Frances Fyfield and P D James.

View author page

Editions

The Good Wife by Jane A. Adams is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278896215th May 2020146 X 222mm208$28.99
Hardback978072788962131st January 2020146 X 222mm208£20.99
Hardback97807278896215th May 2020146 X 222mm208$28.99
Ebook97814483038091st March 2020N/A208$14.99
Ebook97814483038091st March 2020N/A208£12.99
Ebook97814483038091st March 2020N/A208$14.99
Hardback - Large Print978178029192526th October 2021145 X 225mm288$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978178029192526th August 2021145 X 225mm288£22.99
Hardback - Large Print978178029192526th October 2021145 X 225mm288$36.95
Paperback978178029676026th June 2021140 X 217mm208$17.95
Paperback978178029676029th April 2021140 X 217mm208£12.99
Paperback978178029676026th June 2021140 X 217mm208$17.95
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice