The Leaden Heart
by Chris Nickson

When an old friend asks Superintendent Tom Harper for help, he finds himself drawn into a deadly web of intimidation, corruption and misery on the streets of Leeds.

Leeds, England. July, 1899. The hot summer has been fairly quiet for Detective Superintendent Tom Harper and his squad, until a daring burglary occurs at an expensive Leeds address. Then his friend and former colleague, Inspector Billy Reed, asks for his help. Billy’s brother, Charlie, a shopkeeper, has committed suicide. Going through Charlie’s papers, Billy discovers crippling rent rises demanded by his new landlord. Could these have driven him to his death?

As Harper investigates, he uncovers a web of intimidation and corruption that leads back to the mysterious North Leeds Company. Who is pulling the strings behind the scenes and bringing a new kind of misery and violence to the people of Leeds? Harper is determined to unmask the culprits, but how much blood will be shed as he tries?

Reviews

Nickson's latest and perhaps finest is a breathless race for the truth from start to finish

Kirkus Reviews Starred Review

Thoughtful characterizations and a plausible, heartrending plot add up to a winner. Nickson stands in the front rank of historical mystery authors

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

A tense, well-crafted police procedural with authentic period ambience, a clever plot, and an engaging husband and-wife duo in the lead

Booklist on The Tin God

An outstanding entry in an excellent historical-mystery series that deserves more attention. Recommend Harper to fans of Anne Perry’s William Monk

Booklist Starred Review of On Copper Street

Fans of Anne Perry’s Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series should enjoy

Publishers Weekly on The Iron Water

Chris Nickson

Chris Nickson is the author of six Tom Harper mysteries and seven highly acclaimed novels in the Richard Nottingham series. He is also a well-known music journalist. He lives in his beloved Leeds.

View author page

Editions

The Leaden Heart by Chris Nickson is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278887921st July 2019145 X 221mm224$28.99
Hardback978072788879229th March 2019145 X 221mm224£20.99
Hardback - Large Print978072789236231st March 2020145 X 222mm336$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978072789236231st January 2020145 X 222mm336£22.99
Paperback978178029597825th May 2021140 X 218mm224$17.95
Paperback978178029597831st March 2021140 X 218mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice