The Murder Dance
by Sarah Rayne

Researching the history of a dilapidated Elizabeth manor house, Phineas Fox uncovers the shocking truth behind a mysterious – and deadly – dance.

Having unexpectedly inherited an Elizabethan manor house in rural Norfolk, the new owner Quentin Rivers has asked Phineas Fox to investigate the house’s history. Phin soon becomes immersed in The Tabor’s dark and mysterious past, and in the course of his research uncovers tales of a curious dance, the Cwellan Daunsen: a dance that has not been performed for centuries but whose strange legend still lingers. The dance has a dark side; whenever it took place, children were told to stay indoors – and on no account to look through their windows . . .

As Phin delves further, the terrible secrets of The Tabor and the Rivers’ family ancestors begin to reveal themselves, secrets stretching back more than six hundred years. But as the past gradually creeps up on the present, is history destined to repeat itself . . . ?


“The Fox novels are a joy to read. They’re beautifully written, with a strong protagonist and very cleverly constructed stories. Each of the Fox novels has been better than the last – with more-complex stories that ratchet up the suspense to a new level ... Fans of Phineas Fox will be lining up for this one”

Booklist Starred Review of The Devil's Harmony

Rayne writes with panache and imagination … A chocolate box of classical music, banter, historic tidbits, and spooky stories

Kirkus Reviews on The Devil's Harmony

“An intricate tale of music, love, betrayal, and self-sacrifice … Fans of intelligent historical mysteries will be rewarded”

Publishers Weekly on The Devil's Harmony

“Rayne is a fine writer, a sure-handed plotter and skillful character builder ... Fox is perhaps her most intriguing creation”

Booklist on Music Macabre

“Colorful characters and a mastery of slow-burning suspense make this case an engaging page-turner”

Kirkus Reviews on Music Macabre

Sarah Rayne

Sarah Rayne is the author of many novels of psychological and supernatural suspense, including the Nell West & Michael Flint series, the Phineas Fox mysteries and the Theatre of Thieves mysteries. She lives in Staffordshire.

View author page


The Murder Dance by Sarah Rayne is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278501264th January 2022140 X 225mm256$28.99
Hardback978072785012628th October 2021140 X 225mm256£20.99
Ebook97814483063671st December 2021N/A256$14.99
Ebook97814483063671st December 2021N/A256£12.99
Paperback978144830637430th August 2022140 X 216mm256$17.95
Paperback978144830637430th June 2022140 X 216mm256£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice