The Rough Cut
by Douglas Corleone

Riley Vasher hasn’t spoken to her friend Piper Kingsley for years . . . now she’s making a documentary about her murder.

Documentary filmmaker Riley Vasher has been living a low-key life on the island of Oahu with her long-time boyfriend Brody. This all changes when Brody overhears on his police scanner that popular TV weathergirl Piper Kingsley has been murdered.

When Piper’s boyfriend, Ethan Jakes, is arrested for the crime, a high-profile murder trial is sure to follow – and Riley and Brody sense their chance to make a name for themselves.

Riley convinces Ethan she can help him if they make a documentary about the trial, and recommends the brilliant but eccentric defense lawyer Nicholas Church. But as the trial nears and Riley becomes personally involved in the case, the lines of truth soon begin to blur and she finds herself becoming part of the story.

Reviews

Corleone is an excellent plotter … Another winner from an accomplished mystery writer

Booklist

A clever, witty series launch … Corleone offers a thoughtful look at how easily the legal system and the media can be manipulated

Publishers Weekly

A sharply plotted legal drama with a double-barreled climax

Kirkus Reviews

A starchy blend of action and suspense fueled by well-placed surprises

Kirkus Reviews on Beyond Gone

Corleone's prose is lean, his plotting tight, his characters vividly drawn

Booklist on Gone Cold

More plot twists than you can shake a stick at

Kirkus Reviews on Last Lawyer Standing

Corvelli is a likable, pill-popping lawyer, and the secondary characters are Elmore Leonard quirky

Booklist on Last Lawyer Standing

With its high-octane pace, this is perfect airplane fare. Before you know it, you'll be humming Hawaii Five-0 theme music

Library Journal on Night on Fire

Fans of John Grisham, Lisa Scottoline and other legal thriller authors will enjoy this for the sheer pleasure of seeing a master defense attorney at work in the courtroom

Library Journal on One Man's Paradise

Douglas Corleone

A former criminal defense lawyer in New York, Douglas Corleone is now based in Honolulu. Douglas was a winner of the Minotaur Book/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award and a finalist for the 2010 Shamus Award for his debut One Man’s Paradise.www.douglascorleone.com

View author page

Editions

The Rough Cut by Douglas Corleone is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278898675th January 2021150 X 232mm256$28.99
Hardback978072788986730th October 2020150 X 232mm256£20.99
Ebook97814483044791st December 2020N/A256$25.99
Ebook97814483044791st December 2020N/A256£18.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice