A Season for the Dead
by David Hewson

Welcome to Italian police detective Nic Costa’s Rome: the side of the city the tourist board does not want you to see.

“Hewson does more than provide a thrilling read. He saves you the airfare to Italy. When you turn the last page, you’ll think you’ve been there” LINWOOD BARCLAY

“David Hewson’s Rome is dark and tantalizing, seductive and dangerous, a place where present-day crimes ring with the echoes of history” TESS GERRITSEN

“David Hewson is one of the finest thriller writers working today” STEVE BERRY

“No author has ever brought Rome so alive for me – nor made it seem so sinister” PETER JAMES

“[Hewson is] a master plot maker” BOOKLIST

_______________________

There’s no rest for the wicked . . .

Whilst Sara Farnese pores over ancient texts in the silent Vatican reading room, a brutal murder is taking place in a nearby church. Then suddenly a crazed man enters the Vatican carrying a bloodied bag. He walks up to Sara’s desk. He has something he would like her to see . . .

Soon Sara is inextricably linked to a series of horrific and cunning murders, each one representative of the death of a martyr of the Church. Thrust into the case is Nic Costa, an up-and-coming detective in Rome’s police force, whose mission is both to track down the killer and protect Sara from the horrors he is capable of. For it seems that at any time she could be the next chosen sacrifice – if, that is, she’s as innocent as she first appears.

Fans of Donna Leon’s Commissario Brunetti, Andrea Camilleri’s Inspector Montalbano and Michael Dibdin’s Aurelio Zen, as well as Louise Penny, Jeffey Siger and Martin Walker, will love this thrilling mystery series – perfect for readers who enjoy dark and complex character-led mysteries with multiple twists.

PRAISE FOR A SEASON FOR THE DEAD:

“Richly enjoyable, sophisticated and beguiling entertainment” Sunday Times

“Keeps the reader guessing . . . relentlessly tightening the suspense until the end” Daily Telegraph

A Season for the Dead, like The Da Vinci Code, is a thriller that takes an unflattering look at the Catholic Church, but it is better written and more sophisticated than Dan Brown’s phenomenal bestseller” Washington Post

“A delicious and compelling view of the public art of Rome and the private intrigue of the Vatican. Recommended” Library Journal

“A complex story and an abundance of historical detail . . . [an] engrossing book” Publishers Weekly

“It was very hard to put this one down . . . [Nic is] a fascinating young police detective who, refreshingly, fits none of the usual fictional stereotypes” Sheila B., 5* GoodReads review

“I’ve found another must read author. I loved the descriptions of Rome & he made the city come alive” Janet, 5* GoodReads review

“Compelling from beginning to end” Stephen, 5* GoodReads review

“David Hewson knows how to write a mystery/thriller and keeps the tension high . . . Strap in for an exciting (and creepy) read!” Scott N., 5* GoodReads review

THE NIC COSTA MYSTERIES, IN ORDER:

1. A Season for the Dead
2. The Villa of Mysteries
3. The Sacred Cut
4. The Lizard’s Bite
5. The Seventh Sacrament
6. The Garden of Evil
7. Dante’s Numbers (aka The Dante Killings)
8. City of Fear (aka The Blue Demon)
9. The Fallen Angel
10. The Savage Shore

Reviews

“Richly enjoyable, sophisticated and beguiling entertainment”

Sunday Times

“Keeps the reader guessing . . . relentlessly tightening the suspense until the end”

Daily Telegraph

A Season for the Dead, like The Da Vinci Code, is a thriller that takes an unflattering look at the Catholic Church, but it is better written and more sophisticated than Dan Brown's phenomenal bestseller”

Washington Post

“A delicious and compelling view of the public art of Rome and the private intrigue of the Vatican. Recommended”

Library Journal

“A complex story and an abundance of historical detail . . . [an] engrossing book”

Publishers Weekly

“Hewson does more than provide a thrilling read. He saves you the airfare to Italy. When you turn the last page, you’ll think you’ve been there”

Linwood Barclay

“David Hewson’s Rome is dark and tantalizing, seductive and dangerous, a place where present-day crimes ring with the echoes of history”

Tess Gerritsen

“David Hewson is one of the finest thriller writers working today”

Steve Berry

“No author has ever brought Rome so alive for me – nor made it seem so sinister”

Peter James

“A terrific series”

Lee Child

David Hewson

David Hewson is a former journalist with The Times, Sunday Times and the Independent. He is the author of more than thirty novels, including his Rome-based Nic Costa series which has been published in fifteen languages, his Amsterdam-based series featuring detective Pieter Vos and the brand-new Venetian mystery series. He has also written three acclaimed adaptations of the Danish TV series, The Killing. He lives near Canterbury in Kent.@david_hewson | davidhewson.com

View author page

Editions

A Season for the Dead by David Hewson is available in the following formats

Ebook978144831414014th May 2024N/A400$14.99
Ebook978144831414014th May 2024N/A400£4.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice