Death of a Prominent Citizen
by Cora Harrison

“Harrison’s seventh Reverend Mother whodunit stands out as her trickiest yet … Fans of historical puzzle mysteries will be delighted” – Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Money is the root of all evil, according to the Reverend Mother
but is it the motive for her cousin’s murder?

Wealthy widow Charlotte Hendrick had always promised that her riches would be divided equally between her seven closest relatives when she died. Now she has changed her mind and summoned her nearest and dearest, including her cousin, the Reverend Mother, to her substantial home on Bachelor’s Quay to inform them of her decision. As Mrs Hendrick’s relatives desperately make their case to retain a share of her wealth, riots break out on the quays outside as the flood waters rise …

The following morning, a body is discovered in the master bedroom, its throat cut. Could there be a connection to the riots of the night before – or does the killer lie closer to home? In her efforts to uncover the truth, the Reverend Mother unearths a tale of greed, cruelty, forbidden passion … and cold-blooded malice.

Reviews

Harrison’s seventh Reverend Mother whodunit stands out as her trickiest yet … Fans of historical puzzle mysteries will be delighted

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

A classic golden-age mystery whose shocking solution will appeal to fans of Christie and Sayers

Kirkus Reviews

Harrison is at the top of her game in her 6th whodunit ... The fair-play puzzle is among Harrison's finest

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Murder at the Queen's Old Castle

Sparkling descriptions of life in 1920s Cork and fascinating historical details combine to ably support a clever plot and an intriguing cast

Booklist on Murder at the Queen's Old Castle

This highly readable historical series is perfect for fans of authors who focus on a vivid locale such as Andrea Camilleri and Ann Cleeves

Library Journal on Murder at the Queen's Old Castle

Harrison's 5th engrossing mystery brings to life the turbulence and politics of 1920s Ireland. Reverend Mother will appeal to admirers of Ellis Peters' Brother Cadfael mysteries

Library Journal Starred Review of Death of a Novice

An admirable heroine, vivid characters, and an inventive plot, combined with intriguing insights ... make for a captivating read

Booklist on Death of a Novice

Cora Harrison

Cora Harrison has written over 50 book for adults and children, including the Burren mysteries. She lives near the Burren in the west of Ireland.coraharrison.com

View author page

Editions

Death of a Prominent Citizen by Cora Harrison is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278892497th July 2020144 X 224mm224$28.99
Hardback978072788924931st March 2020144 X 224mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483041961st May 2020N/A224$10.99
Ebook97814483041961st May 2020N/A224£8.99
Paperback978178029694431st May 2022138 X 216mm224$17.95
Paperback978178029694431st March 2022138 X 216mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice