Murder in an Orchard Cemetery
by Cora Harrison

The peaceful atmosphere of the Reverend Mother’s annual retreat is shattered by sudden, violent death in this gripping historical mystery.

1920s. Cork, Ireland. The Reverend Mother regrets the bishop’s decision to invite the five candidates for the position of Alderman of the City Council to join them for their annual retreat. Constantly accosted by ambitious, would-be politicians hoping to secure the bishop’s backing, she’s finding the week-long sojourn at the convent of the Sisters of Charity anything but peaceful. What she doesn’t expect to encounter however is sudden, violent death.

When a body is discovered in the convent’s apple orchard cemetery, blown to pieces by a makeshift bomb, it is assumed the IRA are responsible. But does the killer lie closer to home? Was one of the candidates so desperate to win the election they turned to murder? Does someone have a hidden agenda? Once again, the Reverend Mother must call on her renowned investigative skills to unearth the shocking truth.

Reviews

Harrison adroitly combines the Reverend Mother's clever investigation with a sympathetic portrayal of the plight of Cork's poor. Fans of historical puzzle mysteries will be delighted

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Death of a Prominent Citizen

The intriguing plot, the keen insights, and the clever heroine make this a fine read for the historical-mystery crowd

Booklist on Death of a Prominent Citizen

A classic golden-age mystery whose shocking solution will appeal to fans of Christie and Sayers

Kirkus Reviews on Death of a Prominent Citizen

Harrison is at the top of her game in her 6th whodunit ... The fair-play puzzle is among Harrison's finest

Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Murder at the Queen's Old Castle

Sparkling descriptions of life in 1920s Cork and fascinating historical details combine to ably support a clever plot and an intriguing cast

Booklist on Murder at the Queen's Old Castle

Brings to life the turbulence and politics of 1920s Ireland. Reverend Mother will appeal to admirers of Ellis Peters' 'Brother Cadfael' mysteries

Library Journal Starred Review of Death of a Novice

Cora Harrison

Cora Harrison has written over 50 book for adults and children, including the Burren mysteries. She lives near the Burren in the west of Ireland.coraharrison.com

View author page

Editions

Murder in an Orchard Cemetery by Cora Harrison is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278904057th September 2021145 X 222mm240$28.99
Hardback978072789040524th June 2021145 X 222mm240£20.99
Ebook9781448305476N/A240$24.99
Ebook97814483054761st August 2021N/A240£20.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice