Solid Citizens
by David Wishart

Murder visits the Winter Festival in the days of Ancient Rome . . .

Marcus Corvinus investigates the death of a seemingly respectable citizen in this gripping, twist-filled mystery in the critically-acclaimed historical series. A perfect read for fans of Lindsey Davis and Rosemary Rowe.

“Like Chandler’s Marlowe, Corvinus wisecracks his way through a weary world of murder and intrigue until he hunts down the truth” The Times

December, AD39. While enjoying the Winter Festival holiday at his adopted daughter’s home in the Alban Hills, Marcus Corvinus discovers that an outwardly respectable pillar of the community, local politician Quintus Caesius has been discovered beaten to death at the rear entrance of the town brothel.

Questioning those who knew the victim, Corvinus is dismayed to find Bovillae a place of small town secrets, bitter feuds, malicious gossip and deadly rivalry: a world away from the sophistication of Rome. As he is to discover, there are several suspects with reason to bear Caesius a grudge. But who would hate him enough to kill him? And what would a supposedly solid citizen be doing visiting the local brothel?

Praise for Solid Citizens and the Marcus Corvinus mysteries:

Fans will greet this new Corvinus novel with open armsBooklist

Wry first-person narrative . . . Wishart adds his usual evocative historical touchesKirkus Reviews

Brings ancient Rome vividly to life . . . bound to keep Lindsey Davis fans entertained” Library Journal

Corvinus proves an astute sleuth as he tackles the nicely constructed puzzlesPublishers Weekly

“Wishart’s investigator pinches his conversation style and hardboiled wisecracking from classic Hollywood noir, which adds a charming incongruity to this entertaining whodunit” Financial Times

Like Chandler’s Marlowe, Corvinus wisecracks his way through a weary world of murder and intrigue until he hunts down the truth. A taut thriller in which ancient Rome springs to lifeThe Times

Reviews

“Fans will greet this new Corvinus novel with open arms”

Booklist

Corvinus' wry first-person narrative holds his 15th whodunit together

Kirkus Reviews

David Wishart

View author page

Editions

Solid Citizens by David Wishart is available in the following formats

Hardback978178029054631st July 2013145 X 223mm208£20.99
Hardback978178029054631st July 2013145 X 223mm208£20.99
Ebook97817801045461st November 2013N/A208$10.99
Ebook97817801045461st November 2013N/A208£8.99
Ebook97817801045461st November 2013N/A208$6.99
Paperback978178029583131st October 2017140 X 220mm208£12.99
Paperback978178029583131st October 2017140 X 220mm208£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice