The Clockmaker
by Jane A. Adams

Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone discovers that things are not as they first appear when clockmaker Abraham Levy’s nephew goes missing.

February, 1929. Clockmaker Abraham Levy’s young nephew has vanished. He was last seen boarding a train on his way to see his fiancée, and with no sign of foul play, the suspicion is that he may have got cold feet about his upcoming nuptials and alighted at an earlier stop. The police seem to think so, but Abraham isn’t convinced.

Feeling he has no other option, Abraham makes an unexpected visit to DCI Henry Johnstone to appeal for his help. Despite his initial reluctance, Henry’s curiosity gets the better of him, and his review of the case soon leads to a startling discovery. As Henry is plunged fully into a new investigation, it seems the truth is far more complicated and disturbing than it first appeared.


Skillfully plotted … Adams shines light on the darker realities of the times without being heavyhanded

Publishers Weekly

Readers who enjoy historical mysteries and British police procedurals are the natural audience here


Jane A. Adams

Jane A. Adams is a British writer of psychological thrillers. Her first book, The Greenway, was nominated for a CWA John Creasey Award in 1995 and an Author’s Club Best First Novel Award. Adams has a degree in Sociology, was once lead vocalist in a folk rock band, and is married with two children. She lives in Leicester. Her writings are comparable to the work of Lisa Appignanesi, Frances Fyfield and P D James.

View author page


The Clockmaker by Jane A. Adams is available in the following formats

Hardback - Large Print978178029161127th April 2021144 X 221mm304$36.95
Paperback978178029609830th October 2020140 X 217mm224£13.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice