The Murder Book
by Jane A. Adams

Introducing Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series.

Lincolnshire, England. June, 1928. When three freshly-buried bodies are unearthed in the front yard of a rented cottage, DCI Henry Johnstone, a specialist murder detective from London, is summoned to investigate. Two of the victims are identified as Mary Fields, known to have worked as a prostitute, and her seven-year-old daughter Ruby. But who is the third victim and what was he doing at the cottage?

Johnstone is determined to do things by the book, but his use of forensic science and other modern methods of detection soon ruffles feathers. Frustrated by the unhelpful attitude of the local constabulary, Johnstone fears the investigation is heading nowhere. Then he’s called out to another murder . . .


The Murder Book by Jane A. Adams is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788655230th September 2016145 X 225mm240£20.99
Hardback978072788655230th September 2016145 X 225mm240£20.99
Ebook978178010819320th December 2016N/A240$6.99
Ebook978178010819320th December 2016N/A240£4.99
Hardback - Large Print978072789316129th December 2017140 X 220mm336£22.99
Hardback - Large Print978072789316129th December 2017140 X 220mm336£23.99
Paperback978184751757915th November 2017144 X 224mm240£12.99
Paperback978184751757915th November 2017144 X 224mm240£13.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

Jane A. Adams

Jane A. Adams was born in Leicestershire and still lives there – even though it is too far from the sea. She teaches creative writing and writing skills, mentors other writers for various arts organizations and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a Royal Literary Fund Associate Fellow. Her first book, The Greenway, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award and for the Author’s Club Best First Novel Award. When not writing she can often be found drawing racing dodos and armoured hares and the occasional octopus.As well as the Henry Johnstone series, Adams is the author of the highly acclaimed Naomi Blake and Rina Martin mystery series.

View author page