Dead Man Walking
by Simon R. Green

“Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”

A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time.

Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.


I always buy Simon R. Green for my personal collection as well as my library. The Ishmael Jones' series is an expertly blended tale of mystery and paranormal

Lisa S, Librarian

We get the impression here that we're only glimpsing the surface of this new world, and before we've finished this one, we're already looking forward to the next in the series


This sequel to the wonderful The Dark Side of the Road takes the basic structure of a traditional English country house mystery and mixes it with a bit of supernatural horror and suspense. Richard Kadrey and E.E. Knight fans will particularly relish Green's genre-blending novel.

Library Journal

This meld of SF and traditional hard-boiled spy fiction hints at plenty of further adventures

Publishers Weekly

Simon R. Green

Simon R. Green was born in Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England, where he still lives. He is the New York Times bestselling author of more than seventy science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Nightside, Secret Histories and Ghost Finders series, the Ishmael Jones mysteries, the Gideon Sable series and the Holy Terrors mystery series.Simon has sold more than four million copies of his books worldwide.

View author page


Dead Man Walking by Simon R. Green is available in the following formats

Hardback978072788623131st May 2016146 X 224mm208£20.99
Hardback978072788623131st May 2016146 X 224mm208£20.99
Ebook97817801078681st September 2016N/A208$6.99
Ebook97817801078681st September 2016N/A208£4.99
Paperback978184751725828th February 2017140 X 215mm208£12.99
Paperback978184751725828th February 2017140 X 215mm208£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice