The Sharpest Needle
by Renee Patrick

Ready to mingle with the stars? Hollywood’s A-list takes centre stage once again in this stylish, twisty and sharply observed Golden Age of Hollywood mystery featuring irresistible sleuthing duo Lillian Frost and Edith Head. Effortlessly blending oodles of glamour and famous (and fictional) names with a stunningly crafted whodunit, this compelling, vibrant tale is bursting with twists and shocking moments. Love gossip, rumour and scandalous secrets? This page-turning read is perfect for fans of Classic Hollywood films and all mystery-loving fashionistas.

What happens when your past catches up with you?

Lillian Frost and Edith Head investigate a series of bizarre poison pen letters sent to a leading Hollywood actress in this mesmerising mystery.

1939, Los Angeles. Marion Davies has a problem. The actress has received poison pen letters highlighting an embarrassing event in her past from the mysterious ‘Argus’. Can Lillian Frost and her friend and partner-in-crime, celebrated costume designer Edith Head, expose the writer before they expose Marion? Lillian’s boss, millionaire inventor Addison Rice, seems to think so, but when Lillian speaks to her idol, Marion is reluctant to reveal her secrets, fearful of jeopardizing her affair with newspaper tycoon W.R. Hearst.

Is a prankster simply trying to tarnish the reputation of one of Hollywood’s leading ladies, or is something more sinister going on behind the scenes? As Lillian and Edith are drawn into increasingly dangerous and disturbing territory, their enquiries take an unexpected and stunningly dark twist . . .

Reviews

Entertaining… Patrick elegantly weaves Hollywood gossip and history into the well-crafted plot. This is a tailor-made treat for film buffs

Publishers Weekly

A solid mystery, but it’s the imaginative blending of real and fictional history that really sells the book … The emergence of Head as a fully fleshed character, along with evermore- engaging, Hollywood-based stories, has made [this series] something quite special

Booklist

Patrick skillfully stitches together bits of authentic Hollywood history and provides star turns for the likes of Bette Davis and Fred MacMurray in this exuberant tale of murder, revenge, and sartorial splendor

Publishers Weekly on Script for Scandal

A meaty, densely packed presentation of Tinseltown riven by potentially murderous factions on the brink of World War II

Kirkus Reviews on Script for Scandal

The story, concerning a bank robbery, is genuinely gripping. Well done

Booklist on Script for Scandal

A delightful and entertaining story with unexpected twists and turns ... If you enjoy a fast-paced detective story with a sprinkle of humor, this might be the perfect book for you

Historical Novels Review

An exhilarating ride through Hollywood in its heyday … Lovers of old movies, fabulous gowns, and historical gossip will be enchanted

Publishers Weekly on Dangerous to Know

The story is intricate and surprising, and the partnership between Head and her good friend Frost sets the stage for many further adventures

Booklist on Dangerous to Know

A champagne-flavored frolic of a first mystery set during Hollywood's golden age ... Sure to delight fans of old Hollywood and Turner Classic Movies

Library Journal on Design for Dying

The warm working relationship that develops between Lillian and Edith will leave readers eager to see more of their adventures

Publishers Weekly on Design for Dying

Renee Patrick

Renee Patrick is the pseudonym for married authors Rosemarie and Vince Keenan. Rosemarie is a research administrator and a poet. Vince is a screenwriter and a journalist. Both native New Yorkers, they currently live in Seattle, Washington. They have written two previous books starring Lillian Frost and Edith Head, Design for Dying and Dangerous to Know. Script for Scandal is their first book for Severn House.

View author page

Editions

The Sharpest Needle by Renee Patrick is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278892872nd February 2021150 X 220mm240$28.99
Hardback978072788928730th November 2020150 X 220mm240£20.99
Ebook97814483047454th January 2021N/A240$14.99
Ebook97814483047451st January 2021N/A240£12.99
Paperback978178029746030th November 2021140 X 215mm240$17.95
Paperback978178029746030th September 2021140 X 215mm240£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice