The Anger of God
by Paul Doherty

The kingdom teeters on a knife edge, and one man would throw it into chaos…

Autumn, 1379.
The power of the crown is invested in John of Gaunt, and the kingdom is seething with discontent. The French are attacking the southern ports and peasants are planning a revolt organised by a mysterious leader who proclaims himself ‘Ira Dei’, the Anger of God.

His plans plunged into chaos by a series of bloody murders, Gaunt turns to Sr John Cranston to catch the assassin and recover a vanished king’s ransom in gold.

Together, Cranston and his ally, Brother Athelstan, face threats and attack from the powerful as well as the seedy underworld of medieval London as they attempt to bring a cunning murderer to justice.

The fourth instalment in the gripping historical mystery series, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom, S. J. Parris and Susanna Gregory.


The Anger of God by Paul Doherty is available in the following formats

FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice

Paul Doherty

Paul Doherty has written over 100 books and was awarded the Herodotus Award, for lifelong achievement for excellence in the writing of historical mysteries by the Historical Mystery Appreciation Society. His books have been translated into more than twenty languages and include the historical mysteries of Brother Athelstan and Hugh Corbett.

View author page