A Dagger Before Me
by Jeanne M. Dams

American Anglophile Dorothy Martin uncovers strange goings-on when she attends the christening of an English aristocrat.

Dorothy Martin and her husband Alan have been invited to rural Suffolk to take part in the christening of the newest member of the aristocratic Montcalm family. But on arriving at Dunham Manor, they discover the household in turmoil as the ceremonial dagger used in Montcalm family christenings for generations past, has gone missing. Dorothy and Alan offer their help in locating the ancient heirloom, but when a stranger is murdered in the village – stabbed in the back with an ornate dagger – Sir Edwin Montcalm finds himself the prime suspect in a very puzzling murder.

It will take all Dorothy and Alan’s well-honed investigative skills to untangle a web of long-buried secrets, historic conflicts and murderous inclinations which threaten to destroy the traditions and the very existence of the Montcalms’ way of life for ever.

Reviews

An Anglophile’s delight piled high with enchanting details of arcane rituals, all neatly wrapped around a nice little case of murder

Kirkus Reviews

Anglophiles and history buffs alike will enjoy the cozy mystery merged with travelogue details … perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Alexander McCall Smith

Booklist

Another charming cozy featuring two very likable senior sleuths who show no signs of slowing down

Booklist on Smile and be a Villain

Along the way readers learn a lot about such subjects as the D-Day landing at Omaha beach, the Bayeux tapestry, and the history of illuminated manuscripts. Armchair travelers will be pleased.

Publishers Weekly on Smile and be a Villain

Jeanne M. Dams

Jeanne M. Dams, an American, is a devout Anglophile who has wished she could live in England ever since her first visit in 1963. Fortunately, her alter ego, Dorothy Martin, can do just that. Jeanne lives in South Bend, Indiana, with a varying population of cats.

View author page

Editions

A Dagger Before Me by Jeanne M. Dams is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278887093rd June 2019145 X 223mm224$28.99
Hardback978072788870928th February 2019145 X 223mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483020861st April 2019N/A224$16.99
Ebook97814483020861st April 2019N/A224£11.99
Hardback - Large Print978072789222531st October 2019142 X 222mm336$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978072789222530th August 2019142 X 222mm336£22.99
Paperback97818475199553rd February 2020137 X 215mm224$17.95
Paperback978184751995529th November 2019137 X 215mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice