Death Comes to Durham
by Jeanne M. Dams

How can Dorothy Martin clear an elderly woman of murder – when she can’t remember if she did it or not?

American Anglophile Dorothy Martin and her husband, retired chief constable Alan Nesbit, are enjoying a pleasant – albeit rain-soaked – stay in the historic university city of Durham with their old friend David Tregarth. Castle tours and cathedral services fill their days as they wander up and down the steep, cobbled lanes of the medieval city. But the holiday comes to an abrupt halt when David’s elderly great-aunt is accused of the murder of a fellow patient at her nursing home.

How could a frail dementia sufferer commit such a terrible deed? Dorothy is determined to prove Aunt Amanda’s innocence, and launches into an unofficial investigation. But as she and David navigate their way amongst reckless students, inefficient police work and witnesses who have lost the ability to remember, the investigation soon becomes as twisty, slippery and treacherous as the damp cobblestones outside . . .

Reviews

Tension runs high until the surprise ending, the depravity tempered by lyrical descriptions of Victoria and environs

Kirkus Reviews on Death in the Garden City

Anglophiles and history buffs alike will enjoy the cozy mystery merged with travelogue details … perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Alexander McCall Smith

Booklist on A Dagger Before Me

An Anglophile’s delight piled high with enchanting details of arcane rituals, all neatly wrapped around a nice little case of murder

Kirkus Reviews on A Dagger Before Me

Fans of the series will be pleased to see this engaging heroine once more

Booklist on Crisis in the Cathedral

Jeanne M. Dams

Jeanne M. Dams, an American, is a devout Anglophile who has wished she could live in England ever since her first visit in 1963. Fortunately, her alter ego, Dorothy Martin, can do just that. Jeanne lives in South Bend, Indiana, with a varying population of cats.

View author page

Editions

Death Comes to Durham by Jeanne M. Dams is available in the following formats

Hardback97807278892562nd July 2020147 X 224mm224$28.99
Hardback978072788925631st May 2020147 X 224mm224£20.99
Ebook97814483043491st July 2020N/A224$25.99
Ebook97814483043491st July 2020N/A224£11.99
Hardback - Large Print978178029166625th May 2021140 X 230mm304$36.95
Hardback - Large Print978178029166626th March 2021140 X 230mm304£22.99
Paperback978178029713226th June 2021140 X 216mm224$17.95
Paperback978178029713229th April 2021140 X 216mm224£12.99
FormatISBNPublication DateDimensionsPagesPrice